Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend away

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Lovely weekend in a fabulous hotel. Lovely location, great views. Staff very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Wonderful small hotel!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Handy for visits to Newcastle, Hexham and Corbridge. Lovely walks in the countryside and near to Northumberland national park and Hadrians Wall.
We stayed just one night as we were in the area to pick up a new car the next day in Newcastle. We are not fans of the big corporate hotels and always try and choose smaller places to stay as they invariably offer better customer service. We were not wrong! This place is a little gem. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. The bed was soooooo comfy I had a hard job getting out of it in the morning! Lovely toiletries in the beautiful bathroom and good shower over the bath. The food is also top notch and we enjoyed a lovely dinner and excellent breakfast. Plenty on offer and good sized portions. At dinner we saw someone having Scotch Eggs and wondered why we hadnt seen it on the menu. Turns out the bar meals are written on a blackboard that we totally missed. The lady in question said she travelled a fair distance and always had them as they were fabulous! Oh well next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Coxhoe

Beautiful rooms and lovely staff :)

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Not sure about what there is to do nearby tbh as we only stayed for one night to go to a wedding :)
Stayed here for one night for a wedding nearby and really enjoyed my stay! The rooms are comfortable and luxurious with underfloor heating in the bathrooms and extra comfy beds! Would recommend for stays both short and long. The breakfast in the morning was lovely with generous portion sizes and plenty of choice - would love to stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in our wedding night, superb room and a wonderful night, followed by a fantastic breakfast. Can definitely recommend a stay here
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant night stay

Posted Aug 9, 2016
warm and welcoming and very happy with the hotel and staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilts

Overnight stay by Hadrian's Wall on way South

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Not a lot. If pressed, sound proofing. Our room ("Derwent") was over the patio where a partying family held forth until 11pm, and noisy neighbors
Location: Well, the dales, the forest, the wall....
Short stay to break up a long journey. Great hotel, great food, wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Excellent inn in a stunning spot

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Practically everything - the location, food, rooms, service was all fantastic.
Cons: We stayed on a very warm weekend and I think the hosts had unfortunately had the underfloor heating on in our room so it was very hot!
Location: In the heart of the Northumberland countryside, this is a fantastic base for exploring Hadrian's Wall with Housesteads just a 30 min drive away.
We stayed here for one night in July 2016. As well as bed and breakfast we opted to have dinner in the hotel's restaurant, which was excellent. The room was beautifully furnished and very clean with very good facilities (a great shower too, which I often find lets accomodation down...not in this case!). The staff were very helpful and we were delighted to be upgraded to a larger room as someone else had cancelled. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and great service again. Newton is a beautiful little village and the ideal base for exploring Northumberland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great hotel in a peaceful location

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Duke of Wellington. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we had everything we could possibly need. Our room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. We were slightly disappointed in the standard of room cleaning (dirty glasses were left on a couple if occasions, and the room didn't seem to have been dusted or swept particularly well during our stay) but, overall we were happy with our room. The food in the restaurant was fantastic - quality produce, and value for money. A wide choice at breakfast meant we were set up for the day. We would definitely return, it's an ideal place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

lovely hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: great location - fantastic for Hadrians Wall, walking and not far from Newcastle and the night life there
lovely large and well equipped room. very good bar - 4 real ales, good wine list and good selection of whiskey. fantastic evening meals and very good and filling breakfast.