Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Excellent inn in a stunning spot

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Practically everything - the location, food, rooms, service was all fantastic.
Cons: We stayed on a very warm weekend and I think the hosts had unfortunately had the underfloor heating on in our room so it was very hot!
Location: In the heart of the Northumberland countryside, this is a fantastic base for exploring Hadrian's Wall with Housesteads just a 30 min drive away.
We stayed here for one night in July 2016. As well as bed and breakfast we opted to have dinner in the hotel's restaurant, which was excellent. The room was beautifully furnished and very clean with very good facilities (a great shower too, which I often find lets accomodation down...not in this case!). The staff were very helpful and we were delighted to be upgraded to a larger room as someone else had cancelled. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and great service again. Newton is a beautiful little village and the ideal base for exploring Northumberland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

lovely hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: great location - fantastic for Hadrians Wall, walking and not far from Newcastle and the night life there
lovely large and well equipped room. very good bar - 4 real ales, good wine list and good selection of whiskey. fantastic evening meals and very good and filling breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottish Borders

Perfect short stay for celebration

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean luxurious rooms, excellent food. We have stayed here before and will do so again..
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great base for touring - the next day we drove up the 'Corn Road' from Hexham to Alnmouth
We booked a one night stay and added in a celebratory birthday lunch for a small family party. Both the meal (and Dinner and breakfast!) and the room were excellent. The staff were very obliging, allowing an early check in and looking after our party and ourselves very well. We had a great time!
5 out of 5
by Karen from Perth WA

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful property in quiet hamlet. Not much else around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden away

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The overall appearance with regard to the furnishings etc . Lovely food and friendly staff.
Cons: The breakfast buffet table was a bit meagre. A pot of coffee on the table as opposed to habit to ask for a refill.
We stayed here for one night and had booked a table for dinner. The room was fabulous and very spacious considering it was only a double . The bathroom was very modern with a very deep & wide bath . The only problem was trying to operate the plug! Quite difficult to turn and was the only downside to the room. You need to have strength ! Dinner was gorgeous and choosing each course was hard as there was so much to tempt us. My husband and I both had fish for our starters and main. Though we each had different dishes. The flavours were delicious . The prices were not too high either! The decor in the dining area and bar is very tasteful and there was great atmosphere .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Quiet location

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Provide advice on getting there - there are 2 routes from A69, one is easy (T-jn), the other was a very narrow single track road (from roundabout)
Location: Good base for Hadrian's Wall sites
Large room, furnished to high standard. Good quality breakfast with large portions. Restaurant also offers evening meals of good quality at prices which I consider reasonable for the dishes offered.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely comfortable bed - best ever

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: If they keep up this standard no improvement needed.
Location: A very quiet location within easy driving distance of Hadrian's Wall, Corbridge and Hexham. Good walking from the hotel.
We stayed in the Duke of Wellington for 3 nights. Though quite pricey I cannot fault it in any way. The bedrooms were exceptional - extremely comfortable bed with fittings of the highest quality and beautifully clean. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent. Better than I expected for a country inn. The view from the window, from which we viewed the lunar eclipse - was beautiful. We were shown round all 7 bedrooms and each had its own character.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Excellent hotel!

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Nothing in the village, but only a few miles from Corbridge ad Hexham and other Northumberland attractions
Excellent hotel, in a amazing setting. Gorgeous, comfortable room, tastefully decorated, and lovely bathroom with an amazing view and lovely, friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. Evening meal was delicious as was the breakfast Couldn't fault the place. Would highly recommend a stay here and would definitely return
3 out of 5
by Kimberly from California

What is this place?

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is pretty and the restaurant is nice. When people say there is nothing around, it's very true. The little road to get back to Newton is a one lane country road. Our room was extremely cold, as they had left the windows open, and it took a good bit of time to warm up. All that would have been ok, but at about quarter to midnight a group came in to the room next door and were extremely loud for about half an hour. At breakfast, our waiter seemed to be annoyed that he had to wait on us. We went down well before the end of breakfast time, but he had to reset a table (already set for dinner). He said they had miscalculated. This place needs to decide what they want to be...a romantic get away B&B, a fine dining location for the locals, or a trendy pub.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottish Borders

Great overnight stay

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Traditional Northumberland hotel with excellent views, and excellent dining
Cons: Not an issue, just that food is being freshly prepared so you may have to wait a little - it's worth it!
Location: This is an excellent touring base - we travelled down via the Kielder Forest Drive, then next day took a driving tour up the Corn Road to Alnmouth
We had an excellent Dinner, Bed and Breakfast one night stay. The hotel was friendly, quiet and comfortable. The food was excellent, both Dinner and breakfast, a very good menu, freshly prepared