Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good family pit stop

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pluses: huge room, comfy beds, good linen, good bathroom. Quiet night despite functions going on. Rooms mainly clean Minuses: very dated decor, stains on furniture and walls. Huge amount of dirt in room corners and on radiators. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would stay again as a convenient stop close to A1
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely Hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff and quality of the rooms.
Cons: None that I know of.
Location: Ideal location and plenty to do around the area, Horse Racing and Golf Courses.
I booked the honeymoon suite for my daughter and son in law to stay after their wedding. They were both very impressed and just a shame they couldn't have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Lovely Setting

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The staff were all so friendly. check in, maintenance, waiting and barstaff were all very helpful The setting is lovely our room overlooked the lake and temple in the park.
Cons: The only thing if we were being picky is that the room was a little tired. The curtains in our room were fraying and the room could have had a lick of paint yet another room booked for one of our party was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Lovely hotel with pathetic service

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The ambience
Cons: Terrible service . Poor food.
Location: The hotel is set in a beautiful place. Very little to do other than go for walks.
The hotel has a great ambience , the setting is wonderful and very peaceful. However the staff have no,clue how to treat their guests . The hotel management would do well to train the staff in countries like Thailand , Srilanka and India ,who really know how to look after their guests . Some areas of the hotel have very tired and worn out carpets. The food was generously soaked in oil .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in pleasant surroundings

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Easily the most comfortable and largest bed I have ever slept in!
Cons: The continental breakfast bar could be stocked a little better, was allowed to run a little low. Not sure about creepy butler statue in reception.
Very reasonably priced given the quality of the rooms, would be happy to stay there again! Bathroom was beautiful and well designed, nice walk in shower and stand alone bath. Magazines in the room and hallways for guests to read was a nice touch. Nice view of the front pond and grounds from our bedroom window
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south shields

Nice but expensive

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel is set in amazing grounds and close to the local village which is good as the food is expensive in the hotel ( that is if you get food on your room a standard room cost is £139 but breakfast was not included) Room was good but bathroom extractor fan grill was well furred over indicating it dad been a long time since it was cleaned Overall a lovely place apart from a couple of minor niggles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bishop's Stortford, UK

Beautiful, quiet location near to A1

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The hotel and surroundings were beautiful, staff helpful and professional. Very romantic location, handy for the A1. Was travelling for business, want to return with my wife as it was so beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Lovely hotel, fantastic service, great food and beautiful location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Had an absolutely fabulous two night stay here, this is the third time we have stayed here and each time has been as good as the first. The staff are extremely friendly and happy to help and nothing is a bother to them, the room was extremely clean and everything was maintained to a high standard, if I had to criticise anything it would be the bulb had blown in the shaving mirror and if I had complained I'm sure it would of been changed immediately but it really wasn't necessary as there was plenty light in the bathroom anyway. We will be back again and can't recommend this place enough
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stockport

Relaxing break

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Everything
This was nothing like the 4**** relaxing break which we were looking forward to. We were placed in a room directly above the speakers of a disco, where the floorboards bounced with the music. Also our window was directly above the area where guests from the party smoked and we could clearly hear their drunken conversations and the choice language that accompanied it. On going down to reception and complaining to the manager I was told they had 'assumed' that we were with the wedding party. I don't know how they could have assumed this. Then I was told I was very knaive to think that the hotel would be quiet on a Saturday evening. So please be aware and don't assume that this hotel will be quite. I also feel I need to mention it was 2 o'clock before the noise calmed down and the taxis stopped pomping their horns etc. Also the room was cramped with wallpaper peeling off the ceiling. On the plus side we found the general staff polite and courteous.