Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Average Hotel, basic accomodation

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Lovely breakfast.
Cons: Modernisation to the bedrooms, or a least a coat of paint
Location: Nothing to do close by, we went into town.
Staff pleasant and helpful, but room was basic, toilet was leaking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Like Stoke - needs regeneration.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed I slept well.
Cons: Needs thought applying to it's design, decor and detailing. Will take a lot of money but I doubt that that will be forthcoming.
Location: Hanley has an excellent ceramics collection and Trentham gardens / estate is worth a visit.
Convenient for the train station but nothing else. Nearest eating place is under the train line, over the canal and the motorway and then there are several past the minste, at least 20 min walk. Or you can catch the bus to the center of Hanley, 20 min. Didn't eat in the hotel as buffets do not interest me. My room was large with miss matched furniture, beige and mid brown, poor light from one sash window, a hairdryer with a 3 foot cord 10 feet from the mirror and a kettle that didn't fit under the tap. I heard voices as I was near the lift but it was not noisy and it had one unused plug socket. The bathroom was aprox. 9 feet by 3 1/2 feet but functioned untill you wanted to use the small hand sink which has a shelf over it that stopped you getting near it (cleaning teeth / shaving).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Andover UK

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Stoke on Trent railway station just across the road , couldnt get any closer ! Would stay here again , nice staff , and room was quiet .
Cons: The rear car park has quite a few potholes , but that wasnt a problem .
We stayed one night , room was clean and comfortable , and breakfast was good . Great value for money .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwich

Nice hotel, close to Alton towers.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel was everything that we needed for a break to Alton towers. Couldn't fault it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Over all experience ok but the bed was hard but room was lovely but not really disabled friendly as tiled floor in bathroom so slippy when using the bath
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Had to pay double room cost because the hotel said my booking with Expedia was not on system and had to again pay in cash because the hotel staff didn't do there job correct..... not acceptable now *
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Bad experience from start to finish

Posted Jun 4, 2017
As we entered our room we were greeted with the stench of a strong musky, antique, that kind of old person scent- spending the first five mins of our stay spraying the room with anti perspirant to cover the smell. The window for the room is a slide up one with no safety locks, so especially if you're taking children be extra careful as they're low enough for a big accident to happen. If you're after comfort and a good nights sleep, this hotel might not be for you. As we were settling down, my other half peeled back the duvet to reveal some sort of bed bug/ flea/ insect which added to the hell. There were a group of young males drinking on the stairs by reception, I was unsure if they were staying in the hotel. (There was also a sign close by stating no food or alcohol to be brought on the premises) Throughout the night we were woken every hour starting at 2am and ending at 7am with a man outside our room banging on hotel doors claiming he was 'room service' and to 'let me in'. The hotel did nothing about this, which I can only presume they believed was acceptable behaviour. Once the fella decided himself to stop, we finally got to sleep.. until 8am, when the hotel decided to set an alarm off by accident. We only got as far as the hotel door for a man (unsure if he worked there) who apologised for the alarm, but gave no explanation behind this. We had to check out by 11am, and I gave up with trying to sleep. At this point I started to pack my bags, get ready and decided
4 out of 5
by Mary zillah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could achieve more for its prime location

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: its in a prime location
Cons: offer better quality hotel at a slightly higher fee.
Location: ideal location. No other hotel close to train station. if there was an alternative at double the price i would book that instead
small rooms poor service for meals and reception ideal location
1 out of 5
by Osvaldo

Staff need customer service training

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was not engaging at all. The only person to be mentioned is the lady at the breakfast bar who was welcoming and very pleasant. The room was tiny and very basic. The experience at night time was not too nice. There were very dodgy people at the bar screaming and shouting, and the waiter lady at the bar was drunk. However, the food was good and the price was reasonable. I would not go there again despite it is a very good location. This is a shame because the hotel itself is not bad. The staff needs serious training about customer service.