Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Air Condition as shown in Expedia

Posted Aug 5, 2017
In general, it's a nice hotel. But, if you expect to find air condition as promised in Expedia.com, you will be disappointed. Really disappointing is the internet. Every 10min you need to fill out the form online again. And it's still very slow. However, this is a place for finding peace and for hiking, not for being connected to the entire world. Then, it shouldn't be offered - air condition and internet - are not really existing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Witney

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting.

Posted May 18, 2015
We arrived at the hotel after a midnight ferry to Dunkirk, (on our way to Prague) very tired and in need of a cold beer which despite of the fact that the bar was not due to open for another hour the very accommodating owner duly obliged. I can only describe our experience as amazing. Everything about this place is faultless,the food is of a very high quality, the owners and staff were extremely friendly. If you prefer to drive to your holiday destination rather than fly, it's little gems like this that you would never normally see make the long drive all worth while.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trip out for a vit to the Harz

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
A very nice rustic hotel in a beautiful stating.
5 out of 5
by marie from Germany

excellent!

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with old German flair.The rooms are simple but nice and comfortable. Okay, maybe the TV was old and small, but the internet connection was very good. Nice people, good food and a great Christmas feeling. The town is beautiful with its old timbered houses; although it was quite empty at this time of the year (early December). Not many shops around.
4 out of 5
by Adamsdown from Cardiff, Wales UK

Wonderful woodland village setting

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels
Beautifully situated in a woodland village. The hotel layout is something of a maze but has heaps of character. Very good, wholesome dinners and a good standard of breakfast buffet. Rooms have been updated in recent years but mine still had an old, small-screen TV with no English speaking channels. This did not detract from an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by Karen

Hotel Zum Buergergarten

Posted Aug 28, 2012 on Hotels
This was a nice hotel, we did not stay in the main hotel, we were in the guest apartments across the street. It ended up being a 2 bedroom apt with a nice seating area and couch, though no AC. The only problem was the wireless hotspot did not reach across the street.. Dinner was fabulous in the dining facility and breakfast was typical cold meats and cheeses, with cereal and rolls. Very nice. I would stay at this hotel again, though I thought it was pretty expensive. The staff speaks very little english, though the lady that helped us to our room was very nice and tried hard.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from teeside

Harz region gem in stolberg

Posted Jul 8, 2009 on Hotels
good hotel, good rooms, ideal location, food also good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

"Excellent value"

Posted May 12, 2009 on Hotels
Both the Hotel, and the town of Stolberg were a lucky "find". We chose the hotel because it seemed to represent good value for money, and this proved to be the case. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful, although speaking very little english (this is the case throughout the Harz region). The Hotel is on the edge of town, but only 10 minutes walk from the centre. Our room was extremely comfortable, and very clean throughout. Only one criticism, no tea & coffee making facilities in room. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Restaurant (evening meal) was good, but there are better in the town (10mins. walk) - would recommend booking on B & B basis. We would definitely book this hotel again if visiting the area.The town of Stolberg should be included on any visit to the area, even if not staying there.
5 out of 5
by MAX

Un séjour très agréable

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Nous sommes arrivés à l'hôtel en fin d'après-midi et nous avons bénéficié d'un excellent accueil. Le seul problème étant que les personnes présentes ne parlaient ni français ni anglais et que nous ne parlons pas l'allemand, mais grâce à la gentillesse de l'hôtesse et à un peu de bonne volonté nous avons récupéré nos chambres. Ces dernières sont assez petites, très propres et assez confortable. Il y a du Wifi. Nous avons dîné sur place (le service se termine à 20h), repas traditionnel très agréable avec quelques fous rires liés aux problèmes de langue ! La salle de restaurant est typique. Au matin le petit déjeuner est complet avec jus de fruit, charcuterie, laitages, fromage, confitures maisons et un grand choix de pains. Nous étions en demi pension et avons payé 65 euros par personne et par nuit, un rapport qualité/prix exceptionnel, je recommande cet établissement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bad Laer

Super Hotel Im Südharz

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Die Menschen sind freundlich.
Location: Das Hotel Befindet sich im Stolberg. Innerhalb von einer halben Stunde erreicht man alle viele Ausflugsziele.
Wir waren 4 Tage im Hotel. Das Apartment war schön sauber. Es wurde jeden Tag gereinigt. Wir hatten eine Kochnische für alle fälle.Das Frühstück war super und das Abendessen sehr gut.