Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w Sx

Not as good as expected

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Immediate hot water in room, breakfasts most enjoyable
Cons: Dinner menu, general condition, did not match expectations of a 4 red star hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in gorgeous grounds, Lots of lovely rooms to relax in and staff were all very friendly and helpful,parts of hotel look a bit tired but added to the ambiance!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
A great, relaxing break. Only issue was wi-fi didn't work, not surprising when I saw the prehistoric modem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wasted opportunity

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely place but I expected a better and more attentive service at almost £400 a night. Dinner was good (lovely foods combined and of good quality). Breakfast really poor - think of the cheapest B&B in selection terms and you'll be close (cold buffet). Hot selection was ok at best. Struggled from the hotel with baggage without several onlooking reception staff offering to help! Such a shame, really wanted to like the hotel.
2 out of 5
by roger from Wimbledon

WE WERE STARVING

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Room was fine but food VERY POOR This is portion control gone mad. We were starving after three courses WILL NOT BE RETURNING !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing!

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
Room furnishing tired, curtains frayed & faded at edges, sofa worn & extremely tired, bathroom acceptable but dated. coffee facilities very basic with little provision. Gardens beautiful & restaurant good but not outstanding. Generally overpriced, stayed in far super accommodation for considerably less money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel in lovely grounds, great food

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, gorgeous building, lovely grounds, great food, lovely Oscar the dog
Cons: A bar/snack menu rather than formal lunch/dinner or afternoon tea
Location: Nice quiet location. Wells is an under-rated city to visit
Stayed there for a long weekend in September. The hotel main rooms are stunning and beautifully decorated. The grounds are lovely. The bedrooms are quirky and individual. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is delicious. We couldn't fault this hotel and we have stayed in hundreds.
4 out of 5
by Dennis from London

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
A very pleasant hotel in a rural environment with a beautiful garden. No lift so may not be suitable for anyone who cannot manage stairs. Breakfast was very good. Did not have evening meal but good pubs with restaurants locally. We wanted to visit Cheddar & Bath and the hotel was ideally situated within easy drive of both.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east midlands

Country House Hotel at it's finest!

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Perfect stay from check in to out. Friendly, helpful staff, beautiful bedroom and amazing gardens and surroundings! Fabulous food, loved it!
5 out of 5
by Jean from Cardiff

Lovely break

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable and attractive hotel with beautiful grounds. A couple of (very)slight niggles. One or two of the staff, although pleasant and willing, had a little difficulty with English but did make the effort to get help from other staff members. As a vegetarian, I thought the meals lacked imagination, especially as we were assured how good the chef was when we mentioned the veggie requirement on our arrival. The use of shutters on the windows meant that the room was slightly airless but the light came in when we left them ajar. Eye mask? We would go again.