Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ellesmere Port

Overnight Stay

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Handy to family that live near by
Have stayed at this hotel before , once again the hotel , facilities , comfort and staff all lived up to our expectations. Would definitely recommend .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cold hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
rude manager and heating wasnt working in room to which we was given a foot wide oil filed radiator and hotel was overall cold through out .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Changes, but not all for the better

Posted Oct 28, 2016
We have stayed here quite a number of times over the past ten or so years. It used to be warm and friendly with a welcoming feel. The staff were always praise worthy for their friendliness. Over the last year or so the hotel has changed its persona to being functional and less friendly. Some updating has taken place in the reception rooms and guest rooms and seems to be 'a work in progress'. The room we had was in the old part of the hotel and had not been subject to updating. It was generally in poor condition with thread bare carpet and peeling wall paper. The lighting was particularly poor. The floor boards creaked loudly at every move and at night there was a noticeable, constant humming to ensure sleep didn't come easily. The room itself was at the end of an upstairs corridor with a significant number of stairs and some distance from the reception and lounge area. I was sporting a very sore knee joint at the time of our visit so found this location to be a problem. As we were there for four days we requested to be moved but our request fell on stony ground! On the plus side, the breakfast was every bit as good as it used to be both in quality and quantity. We don't generally complain and don't feel the need for people to bow and scrape or pander to our every need, but we don't expect the bare minimum either. In light of the comments above I think we would have to think twice before booking it again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from derbyshire

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and beautifully presented.
Cons: Had a large wedding party in and there was not enough staff on. There was no one at the bar and it was difficult to attract anyone's attention and dirty glasses had been left lying out . breakfast staff looked harassed and fed up , although they were trying to do their best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast included makes this a reasonable price

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The bar, dinning room , and stair case very nice areas. Breakfast buffet very nice. Gardens are well kept
Cons: Patio door in our room , wood and rotten +double glazing in door blown.
Location: Lovely area , near town 1/2 mile, canal walks ,trenthham gardens 2 miles .
Room clean , bed very comfortable, bathroom clean and big , very good shower , our room a little tired but many room have undergone big refit. Staff very helpful , gym very small , pool very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and in need of tlc

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: The location was great. Trentham gardens only a few minutes away which was the reason for our stay.
Our room was clean. Food was ok but expensive. The hotel was in need of tlc as it was tired and old fashioned. The pool area was ok but the changing rooms were dismal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Good value for money, could do with rooms updating

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Excellent food & service from staff. Pool & sauna nice at the end of a day.
Cons: Carpet worn out at bottom of bed. The room dated & could do with up dating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Comfy and welcoming

Posted Oct 2, 2016
This was my second stay at this hotel. There is a cosy relaxed atmosphere, makes you feel at home. I booked last minute so had to stay in a twin room that looked like it catered for the disabled or elderly traveler. So that was my only slight disappointment. The staff are polite,friendly and efficient. Bar food is lovely(compliments to the chef), and served by the bar man, who on both occasions I have stayed, had been rushing around trying to do a million things at once, but coped admirably. On entering the Resteraunt for breakfast we were greeted warmly and our order taken swiftly. Again the staff were friendly and chatty. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Delivers what it should and does it well.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Not the most picturesque location, being situated near a dual carriageway and next to an industrial estate but this hotel does exactly what it should. In fact, looking out of the dining room window onto leafy grounds, you'd never know what lies beyond its boundaries. The staff were genuine, pleasant, efficient and calm. The breakfast choice was ample and unfancy. The room was clean and well-appointed, and felt homely. The bed was generous and comfortable and offered up the best night's sleep I've had in a hotel for years. Unpretentious chintzy decor. Nice warm little swimming pool with convenient facilities. All in all, highly satisfactory.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
hotel's catering very good, as were staff, grounds neat n tidy. windows need a clean, all around. no satellite tv in room. I could not retune it for up to date digtal/hd channels