Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Conveniently located in Stone Town

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Situated in centre of old Stone Town with narrow alleyways around it so no traffic noise! ATM nearby and travel/tour operators also near offering Prison Island and tortoises tour $14US instead of $40US offered at hotel! As are Spice Farm and Jozani Forest with red colobus monkey tours Quaint old -style hotel with rooftop restaurant and bar. Breakfast served at table & thankfully not the usual cold congealing buffet! Had dress made for $30 US including material at shop opposite hotel entrance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Lilian, Hotel Management
Thanks Margaret, We really appreciate your Feedback. We will re-look into our tour package. Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Nice Hotel in Great Location in Stonetown

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location to the beach Staff at the restaurant Room cleanliness and tidiness Price Breakfast specially made for Gluten free
Cons: The Aircon was a little shaky but figured out how to make it work on the last day. It only works if you point it directly towards you at night.
Location: Right next to the main hotels in Stone town like Serena, Park Hyatt, Kenyatta Road and close to the beach about 5 minutes walk to the beach.
The stay at Al Johari was awesome. The first two days were not very pleasant as we had to keep asking for extra towel and robe since there was two of us. The last 7 days of our 10-day stay were awesome as the room was cleaned nicely every day and our clothes folded and arranged. Everything expected was provided. There was a club nearby which was playing loud music right into our room but when we closed the windows it was quiet enough. We liked the music so was not too much of a bother. The Restaurant manager Mohammed was very good even took into account my Gluten Allergy and made three different gluten free breakfast alternatives for me. The staff at the restaurant were also very polite and quite hospitable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and friendly staff

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Cozy hotel with a good location in Stone Town. We booked a room for 3 adults, but when we arrived we got a room with a doublebed. They wanted to charge us 20 US dollars extra for a extra bed in the room, but eventually decided that we could get the extra bed for free.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value and great location!

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
This was a last-minute find, but much to our surprise, this was one of the most conveniently located hotels on the island. It is right around the corner from shopping, 2 popular clubs, and great dining. You can walk to the ocean, get street food, and see historic sites very easily. Not sure what some of the negative reviews are about--this is a wonderful Stonetown spot!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for money. Hotel is really nice , great location. Rooms are spacious, very clean and fresh. Was really happy with choice of that hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was extremely helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Basic hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Was the cheapest I could find in the area through hotels.com, it was central to stone town and markets. Breakfast could have been better rather than limiting on what you can have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear , Thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret for the inconvenience caused, we will make sure it wont repeat again. Regards Lilian
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Giles and Paul from Blackpool uk

Very central and accessible

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and some of the Decor
Location: A lot of good restaurants and souvenir shops ,near by !
We booked a room for 2 adults with twin bed but on arrival there was not such facility,only a room with a double bed ,so not confortable or practical for 2 Adults!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't trust the cleaning staff

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Watch your stuff.
Cons: New staff.
Location: Good location.
All around, the place is nice, but at the. End of our stay, over $1000 in three different currencies was taken from two different hard to find places in our baggage. One wad locked with a small lock, so hard to believe, but true. We would recommend not leaving any valuables in the rooms, this has happened many times at this place we have learned. Good luck!