Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Overall a positive experience

Posted Feb 18, 2018
After some initial confusion with the booking, we had a pleasant stay here. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and staff were friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Super Friendly Folks

Posted Feb 13, 2018
I typically don’t care to spend much time sharing my experiences, good or bad, but failing to do so in the case of the Al Minar would be an injustice to the people employed there. My needs where hotel rooms are concerned are simple. I want a clean room, a private bath, and a comfortable bed. Many hotels meet this standard, including the Al Minar. For me it has more to do with the manner in which the facilities are provided. The Al Minar is exceptionally well staffed with people who are kind, considerate and friendly not because the have to be but because they are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in old section of Stone Town

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Rooms are nicely decorated with traditional Zanzibar furniture, excellent laundry service and great wi-fi
Cons: The hot water supply could be improved in the rooms - there wasn't a steady supply and was predominantly warm water than hot water
Location: Very close to the beach, historical sites, restaurants, cafes, bars and shopping. Hotel staff will book day trips, tours and excursions
Al-Minar Hotel is strategically located in the old section of Stone Town. It is quite close to the beach and within walking distance to the historic sites as well as several restaurants, cafes, bars and shopping. The hotel and rooms are decorated in traditional Zanzibar with lovely wood carvings. Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. They will book great day tours/trips/excursions within Stone Town and elsewhere on the island. The hotel is well priced for the service provided as well as the location and quality of the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Mosquito net was attached to a rail which was not working. Room was very hot during the night. Other than that a very pleasant stay, very nice staff and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Authentic Stone Town Experience!

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Great location. Awesome staff.
Location: Beach, bars and restaurants all close by. Lillie’s Beauty Salon is close as well. Excellent massages available there! Don’t miss the Slave Museum.
This hotel is nestled in the tiny lanes of Stone Town. No motor traffic, just pedestrian and the odd motorbike can make it through these lanes so it is quite peaceful. The only noise you notice is the feral chickens and the almighty rooster stirring things up in the morning! You can walk to the beach within 2 minutes, the shops about the same. There are numerous excellent restaurants and bars close by as well. Great location. The hilight of the Al Minar is there amazing staff and management. They are are so dedicated to guest comfort and enjoyment in such a sincere and joyous way. All smiles all the time. Absolutely incredible people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

A steal for the price

Posted Dec 20, 2017
The Al Minar hotel is tucked into a sleepy street corner near the Hyatt. Don’t let the unassuming entrance fool you, this hotel is the best deal you’ll get in Stone Town. The hotel staff are courteous, attentive and welcoming - they make you feel like you’re a celebrity in a lux 5 start hotel. The hotel managers Santosh will go the extra mile to make sure you have an unforgettable experience. Ask him for recommendations, he will literally draw you a personalized map to get you where you should be going. The rooms themselves are comfortable and spacious. The sheets and bed are so soft and comfortable, you won’t want to wake up. But with all there is to explore in Stone Town, you’re probably not spending too much time in your room. The rooftop breakfast is a very nice way to start your morning. Go for the banana pancakes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Cosy and comfortable in a great location

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: The central location was perfect! And it was just five-minutes' walk to the beach
Cons: A restaurant and bar on the premises would be great
Location: Right in the middle of town and never too far away to walk to the shops, other hotels for dinner, and many places of interest.
We took this as our first choice hotel in Zanzibar was not available for the dates. It didn't look impressive from the outside, set in a narrow alleyway that is so characteristic of Stone Town, but once we had checked in and made ourselves comfortable, realised that this was really a great location with many places of interest within walking distance. The rooms were rather compact, but the bathroom size was great. The staff is extremely helpful as well as friendly. It gave us the feeling of being in a small house in the Zanzibar of the old days. The rooftop breakfasts were great and the breakfast staff were particularly cheerful and never complained about making me special spice tea. But there was no restaurant for the evening. I believe there are plans to expand to include a full restaurant at a future date. The Manager, Santosh and the front desk staff, Juma and Suleman, were absolutely efficient and very accommodating for every request we made, including a very late check-out on our final day. A very cosy and comfortable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2017
It was a great3 day stay at the Al-Minar. The staff was wonderful and so helpful especially Santosh. He arranged a great Indian dinner for us with a chef friend of his. It was delicious. When we went to the airport we left our gift bag in the lobby. They sent it to us in a taxi and saved the trip for us. I recommend this hotel whole heartedly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Santosh Giri, Hotel Management
Dear Penny, we cannot thank you enough for acknowledging our constant effort to make all of our guests' stay comfortable and memorable as much as possible. i am sure this wonderful review will add an extra fuel to all the staff to carry on with the current spirit towards our guest and work. we very much look forward to see you soon. Best Regards Santosh Giri General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Great Hotel with a wonderful, friendly staff

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Frank Albert is a great employee. He even recognized us on the ferry back to Dar and offered to help us find our way. Give that man a raise.
Location: Great location right in the middle of Stone Town. Easy walk from the ferry, no need for a taxi. You can avoid the touts this way as well.
Great location and the staff is wonderful. Room was clean, cool and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Santosh Giri, Hotel Management
Dear Jack, we thank you for for such a motivating review, we will make sure that this review passes on to all the staffs especially frank. we are glad that your stay here was comfortable and memorable. we look forward to welcome you again here. Best Regards Santosh Giri General Manager
5 out of 5
by Alysha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels