Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

A night in Stone Town

Posted Aug 12, 2017
We really enjoyed the facilities at the Jafferji hotel - beautiful rooms, fantastic courtyard, panoramic rooftop views and good breakfast included. The hotel staff, however, were largely unfriendly and unhelpful. I would recommend this hotel with that caveat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kenya

Disappointing

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: The bedroom decorations and bed linen.
Cons: Staff could be more helpful and could speak better English.
Location: Good location if you wanna explore Stone Town. Bad location if your goal is to go to the beach.
I chose the hotel due to its location, appearance of bedrooms by the photos and some reviews. However, maybe I didn't look so deeply into the reviews or maybe it was just my imagination that it could be a good enough hotel considering the price. Because, actually, even thought the room had a very good and beautiful bed/bed linen and furnitures/decorations, be advised that the bathroom facilities give you no privacy at all if you go with your partner or with a friend (toilet has no door separating it from bedroom!). Another down point is the staff: receptionist is not always at front desk, the staff speak poor English, they are not happy to offer you vegan options for breakfast (and they take forever to serve you, anyway), someone was too curious about the things inside my necessaire (I came back one day and my things were upside down inside it!), something disappeared from my handbag (but as couldn't prove anything, I didn't place a big complain there and did my best to be polite when reporting the missing item $$ -- for this specific situation the receptionist called the manager who ended up offering me a spa treatment in compensation for my lack of trust (which ended up being one of the higher points of my stay: I got a very well done relaxing massage!). But I wouldn't stay there again next time in Zanzibar! Ah! Before finishing: don't book any tours through the hotel: they charge much higher prices than anywhere else in travel agencies around the Stone Town!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reservation issue

Posted Jun 4, 2017
miscommunucation between hotel and expedia. I had to pay extra fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Beautiful and exotic hotel!

Posted May 23, 2017
Spent two nights here last week. The rooms were all different and each one lovely. Beautiful antique furniture, great Arabic influenced details, nice bathrooms. The hotel staff was helpful in making tour recommendations, restaurant reservations and travel arrangements.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Mwana- Reservation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guests and We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the decor and service of Jafferji House. Our team strive to meet our guest’s expectations and they were very proud to read your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon & send you our best wishes from Zanzibar
5 out of 5
by Yi

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
It's really beyond my expectation. The hotel was small but extremely beautiful. The devices are of good quality. The rooftop restaurant is a big surprise for me, with very good sea and town view, as well as delicate food and reasonable price. It's definitely worth coming again.
5 out of 5
by John

Charming Spot in the Middle of Stone Town

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice room in the middle of stone town. Great set up with three restaurants and the rooms were lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017
Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guests and We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the decor and service of Jafferji House. Our team strive to meet our guest’s expectations and they were very proud to read your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon & send you our best wishes from Zanzibar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel in middle of old Stonetown. Good food,

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Unique architecture, lot of history
Homely atmosphere, very friendly staff. Old building, air conditioned rooms.
5 out of 5
by Gemma

Great hotel stay!

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
It was a wonderful that felt very authentic. It was close to the city, and you can wander around from this central location. I recommend it to all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel right in Stonetown

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Boutique hotel near many sights and shops, nice roof top restaurant. All the rooms are different and beautifully decorated. This place is great- except for the Internet, which barely worked while there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Mwana, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guests and We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the decor and service of Jafferji House. Our team strive to meet our guest’s expectations and they were very proud to read your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon & send you our best wishes from Zanzibar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T.

Historical hotel in Town Stone

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Traditional location
Cons: The ACs could be improved in the rooms. However the staff was reactive and upgraded us to a large charming suite (Jafferji Suite)
Jafferji Hotel is located within a traditional zanzibari house, with interior courtyard, and crafted wood decoration. It is located within the old city but only 5min walk away from the beach front. Close to all touristic spots within the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by mwana, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guests and We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the decor and service of Jafferji House. Our team strive to meet our guest’s expectations and they were very proud to read your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon & send you our best wishes from Zanzibar