Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dar es Salaam

Great Base for Exploring Stone Town

Posted Sep 8, 2017
One of the Cleanest and best maintained hotels in Stone Town, It is a short walk away from the more premium shops and from must see spots such as the Fort, Museum, Slave Market and Freddy Mercury's House. The food in the restaurant on the top competes with the view for attention, neither giving way. All in all, a fantastic way to experience a true Zanzibar house in modern comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuwait

Magnificent

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Amazing location. Amazing, helpful and friendly staff. Amazing facilities and a lovely experiences.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
We had a comfortable stay. The staff were friendly, room was clean, location was great and the breakfast was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for this wonderfully review which I will share with the Kisiwa team.I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you Akida and the Kisiwa Team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Providence, USA

Classic old building in the heart of Stonetown

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The staff was the best. Friendly and helpful -- and genuine. On the last morning they added complimentary plates of grilled octopus to our breakfast!
Location: Everything in Stonetown is in walking distance.
Our room was spacious and clean, with a large bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The staff was incredibly friendly and the breakfast was ample, including delicious fresh fruit. The hotel is centrally located to explore the fascinating maze of streets that is Stonetown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, UK

Nice little hotel with history

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Rooms, location
Location: Shops, restaurants and sights all within walking distance
Comfortable atmospheric colonial era hotel, nicely furnished comfortable rooms. In the southern part of Stone Town's 'old town' close to the markets and sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kampala

Lovely local hotel close to beach

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We were spoiled at this lovely local hotel in Stonetown - beautiful traditional furnishings, attentive staff and rooftop restaurant with views of the sea. Sister hotel on Paje beach also welcoming for day visit
2 out of 5
by Brigitte

Be careful with your booking.

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok very upset that they name me paying for extra bed for th child when I clearly got a confirmation menti Bing that everything was paid for and of course the child mentioned in the booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shahama Abudhabi, Verenigdee Emiraten

Nice and cool for an old stone hotel.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Everything went as planned, enjoyed my trip to the last drop. Hotel is at a walking distance to all attractions around stone town. Hotel staff were every helpfull.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as it could be

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Pretty basic accommodation, three star at best. I took a suite but it wasn't a suite just a larger room. Staff are pleasant, breakfast very basic. Nothing in hotel ( bar, pool, restaurant except a breakfast terrace) just conveniently located in Stone Town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wonderful hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff, wonderfully appointed hotel and so much attention to detail. Good breakfast on lovely rooftop setting