Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton , Alberta

Great location!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff.
Cons: Fridge only goes on when you are in the room
Location: Close to everything, shops, restaurants , nite market, Old Fort .
Loved that you can walk everywhere ... right in the middle of the shops , Forodhani nite market , Old Fort restaurants.Great breakfast. Rooftop bar with live music & spectacular view .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamilton, canada

Highly recommend

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The architecture, cleanliness, decor and rooftop restaurant
Lovely hotel in downtown Stonetown. Close to shopping and historic areas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location nice roof top bar

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Good: excellent location, roof top bar is great, nice breakfast and super clean room Bad: tipping! There is a tip box in the lobby and hotel ask to tip there, even if you do each staff expect tip on top of this. so we endid up with double tips:( I woud not stay somwere else if i would return to stonetown!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, oregon

Excellent hotel on a perfect location

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Great staff, nice rooms, restaurant, and close to the heart of stone town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Ideal location

Posted Aug 1, 2017
We loved this hotel it's location the staff the food was excellent. Best curry in town! Every night the lady came round sprayed the whole room and put the nets down for us. We r stopping in the Hilton in Nungwi atm and it's not a patch on the Maru Maru and it's twice the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel in a nice area!

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The hotel is cdntrally located, very clean, great food and great drinks at the bar. Staff very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Well Priced

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness
This hotel was great for its value. The rooms were clean and the rooftop was great. Nice pool and great free breakfast. Though as mentioned by many reviewers, the late night evening entertainment is LOUD (we could hear it from our room on the first floor) - bring ear plugs! Great central location and easy to find in the winding streets of Stone Town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Key Location Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Nice hotel to stay one or two nights in Stone Town. Key location to walk around the city, main points, restaurants and stores. Stone Town is a 90% Arab town so nice cultural details to see.
3 out of 5
by Jeckeline

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay as always, the service was good however I really don't understand that after all these years you don't get some kind of arrangement with municipality or from the hotel itself do something about the horrendous smell and looks of the outdoor trash only 5 meters away from your entrance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: wifi, wifi
Good location, room on the small side, breakfast more than adequate. Wifi needs to be improved