Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Orbitz
I have stayed in many first class hotels around the world and the Serena is the best. Warm welcome staff who went above and beyond to make my stay exceptional. Beautiful hotel in a Great location. I highly recommend the Serene and can not wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best coffee in Zanzibar

Posted Nov 29, 2016
It poured with rain in Zanzibar and we got drenched. The staff was solitious and very kind to two little old ladies.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and great sunsets from the pool area

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely place to stay, very well located and charming staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and excellent service

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
We went to Zanzibar for our Honeymoon and spent 3 nights in this hotel. The hotel upgraded us to a nicer room with sea view and a balcony. The day of our arrival, they offered us a bottle of vine as a welcome gift. All the staff was super friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is really good as it is close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
Great stay with good staff. Unpretentious hotel but lots of character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

right on the beach---boutique high-end hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: 1) Love the luxury hangout bed outside our room facing the ocean 2) Fresh Kwava (local coffee drink) available in the lobby 3) Very nice staff
Cons: Direct access to the beach if possible-
AMAZING! This is one of the most expensive hotels I have stayed at so fat $300+ per night....and it is a bit over priced but worth it. Since I booked with Expedia they gave me a VIP treatment and upgraded me to a room with a large veranda overlooking the ocean of course with a hammock! They also gave a complimentary bottle of wine and a fruit basket! Loved the special treatment...my friends got booked locally were jealous of the special "expedia" treatment :)
5 out of 5
by Laine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kelly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location & beautiful friendly staff

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Great location in the heart of everything. One of our best holiday locations
4 out of 5
by Mena from South Africa

Serena Bliss Zanzibar

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful stay at the Serena Inn. Staff were gracious n pleasant...bathroom needs a little upgrade but adds to the charm of the hotel. Amazing breakfast views of the sea n great fish dish! Excursions/sight visits well planned Walking distance to Stone Town. The neighborhood gets quiet from 9pm so will not recommend solo walks then