Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland.

Pleasant hotel in good situation.

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Pros: The pleasant staff and the situation.
Cons: Everything has to be “ lifted” to justify its 5 star listing, especially bathroom and pool area.
Location: Location in Stone Town was excellent.
We enjoyed staying at the Serena inn, but, in truth, we have to say that it was not quite the 5 star experience we expected. The room was small, the bathroom tired looking, the pool area was inadequately supervised and lacked parasols, breakfast was adequate but not extensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel overlooking the Beach

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Cons: Bathrooms need updating
A charming hotel overlooking the beach. Very welcoming,friendly staff. The rooms are lovely but in need of updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland UK

Fabulous Hotel and Location

Posted Feb 11, 2018
We were very happy to find the Serena Hotel in Zanzibar which captured everything we were looking for. It has a fantastic location situated on the beach, a nice big pool, fine dining, friendly staff and lovely room furnishings. We highly recommend it for a stay in Stone Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Amazing Experience !! !

Posted Feb 8, 2018
From the moment we walked in everything was perfect. All staff are friendly and helpful always waiting to assist you with anything you may need whether it is adventure recommendations or translations. The room was huge and beautifully made up. There was a wraparound balcony with beach views and huge Zanzibar style bed with net--although there were no bugs at all so hakuna matata (no worries) there. The food at the on site restaurants was well seasoned mmm so delicious. I recommend the seafood platter (with lobster, prawns, and calamari mmm) as well as any of the other meals since I'm sure I ate everything. Overall everything was perfect and I cannot wait to go back to Zanzibar and stay at the Serena and I will definitely stay at a Serena hotel in all of their other locations as I explore the African continent. Thank you so much!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Island visit

Posted Dec 24, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Perfect location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Location, service , staff and decor.
Cons: Air conditioning in the bed rooms.
The hotel is in a perfect location, quiet but only 5 min walk from the town centre. The hotel has charm and is comfortable. The air condition in room 30 is not really cooling a lot. I would go there again...
4 out of 5
by SAMUEL THENYA

Awesome

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was an awesome birthday weekend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Exceptional

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Exceptional service, lovely staff and beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended for a trip of a lifetime. 5 stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

Nice historic charm and on the beach

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Very nice hotel, on the beach. Pleasant staff. Historic charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Elegance

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Great place to relax and unwind. Great staff and accommodations