Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Perfect location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Location, service , staff and decor.
Cons: Air conditioning in the bed rooms.
The hotel is in a perfect location, quiet but only 5 min walk from the town centre. The hotel has charm and is comfortable. The air condition in room 30 is not really cooling a lot. I would go there again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Exceptional

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Exceptional service, lovely staff and beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended for a trip of a lifetime. 5 stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

Nice historic charm and on the beach

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Very nice hotel, on the beach. Pleasant staff. Historic charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Elegance

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Great place to relax and unwind. Great staff and accommodations
5 out of 5
by Julie

Beautiful Experience

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
I had a fantastic experience at the Zanzibar Serena Hotel. As a solo female traveler, I wanted lodging where I felt safe and central and the Serena offered both of those things. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the restaurant delicious and the service impeccable. Though slightly more expensive than other options, I utilized their concierge to book activities and tours on the island and was provided with great guides, transportation and interesting insights. I would definitely return to this hotel. My only gripe with the entire stay was that the hotel shuttle I booked didn't show at the airport - I ended up getting a local taxi to take me to the hotel which was much less expensive and just as safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN

Beautiful and on the ocean

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: They hooked me up to a great guide that enabled me to go to all the sites that were on my "To Do" list. Internet connection was excellent
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: If you want to stay in Stone Town, everything is nearby
A great experience. Staff, rooms, food, and location were perfect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ethiopia

Nice hotel in Stonetown

Posted May 22, 2017
The hotel staff is extremely friendly and nice. The breakfast buffet had more than sufficient choice. The food in the restaurant was also good. Actually, everything was very good and I really enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SM

Reasonable hotel in town.

Posted May 11, 2017
Great experience near the stone town. Proximity to the places I visited.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel has so much charm ..with dark wood and beautiful typical Stone Town doors. For the most part, everything went smoothly. The cleaning staff were so friendly. The breakfast staff could be a bit friendlier. They always seemed annoyed when entering for breakfast every morning. Stayed for 6 nights.