Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Christmas Eve dinner

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: It's a country inn with a nice restaurant.
Location: The harbor is across one street and the village center is across another street.
We got one of the cottages named after one of George Washington's spies (who lived nearby). Beautiful view of the harbor, but a bit of a tangled walk on the footpaths to the main house, where we had Christmas Eve dinner at Mirabelle and Christmas Day continental breakfast. Lovely place, wonderful staff, we'll try to make it back in the summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Quaint inn

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Very quaint hotel overlooking the harbor. I stayed in one of the cottage houses. The area is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very nice hotel and area activities

Posted Aug 10, 2016
We stayed in a cottage that was very nice, spacious and clean. Beds and lounge chairs very comfortable. Dining selections were all excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson Valley, NY

Cute cottages right across from harbor.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Easy check-in. Nice room- not fancy, but beds and linens were very comfortable. The restaurant was very nice with good food. Shops are nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nothing worked or was open.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Lovely inn, lovely setting.
Cons: Consider the expectations of the kinds of people that would pop for a night at a quaint in.
We arrived at 9, just when the kitchen was closing and were recommended to go to Dunkin' Donuts. There was no food or even snacks at the bar. The internet wasn't working and when I called, they had me try all the other cottages, then said they would have to climb under the crawl space in the cottage in the dark if I really wanted it fixed. Breakfast was included but wasn't served until 8 so our choice was to delay or skip. Not a place for a business traveler for sure. Breakfast was very mediocre boxes of sweetened cereal and mini-sugar loaded yogurt cups. No fresh baked scones (just poptarts) and jam (unless you count the grape jelly packets).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from IN

Overall very good

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, conveniently located, and relaxing.
Cons: I would have very much appreciated an earlier breakfast start, or at least some basic provisions such as toast and pastries.
Location: Right by the harbor, Stony Brook University, nice restaurants, shops and walking trails.
The inside of my cottage was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The folks in the adjoining cottage were loud, and the walls are thin, so I could hear every conversation as if they were in the same room. But, it never became a problem, and overall the accommodations were great. The only hangup for me was that the breakfast didn't start until 8:00. For a vacation that would be fine, but this was a business trip, and the 8:00 start was a big disappointment for me as I typically needed to be on my way by 8:00, and nothing is provided until 8:00. But, on the days I could stay late enough for the breakfast, the food was good (although exactly the same each day), and the atmosphere was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice cottage, large room, view of the marina.

Posted May 26, 2015
Cons: Very good breakfast, but a wider selection would be nice.
Location: Parks, Stony Brook.
Nice quite, comfortable stay. Large bedroom area in the cottage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwick, Rhode Island

We will be back!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
A beautiful place with welcoming staff. Better in person than in the photos. We will be back to celebrate our anniversary.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We stayed there ff season, so it was very quiet.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Separate cottages. Unique.
Overall pleasant stay. Comfortable beds. Expensive though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny from NYC

A cottage, not a room off a hallway

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: The sense of history as it was a sort of landmarked site.
Cons: The staff did not collect the key when I signed out and did not stress that the voucher was for breakfast when we first arrived.
Location: It is right near the fabulous Carriage Museum and the Art Museum and History Museum, a cultural complex well worth visiting.
It was a delightful surprise to have our own cottage and parking space. (Great for Honeymooners and couples.) Our only disappointment was the restaurant that was not in our package (where we had our dinner) and the breakfast that was included in our package. The latter was chintzy and the $3.65 tax was not included!!!!