Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very affordable hotel with clean rooms and a nice

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Great rate, the pool and the hot tub.
Cons: There were repairs being done on the floor
Location: The murals in Stony Plain and the grain elevator in Spruce Grove are nice attractions to visit
Second year in a row we chose Travelodge Stony Plain. It was relatively close to the West Edmonton Mall and much more affordable. Check out the murals in Stony Plain and the grain elevator museum in Spruce Grove.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel ... close to all amenities

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Good location ... close to all amenities ++++++++++++
Cons: They could up-date their T.V.'s ... reception not good. Next time I go to this hotel, I will make sure that the T.V. updated.
Location: As mentioned, good location ... close to shopping.
Good experience ... great staff ... T.V. could be up-dated - reception very faded and slightly blurry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chilliwack bc

Not a good place to stay

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We got there and the room was way too small for our family of five to stay in. We hadn't even unpacked and asked the front attendant if they had any bigger rooms and he said no. We ended up having to book at the best Western across the street and Travelodge refused to refund the first night. The hotel is completely outdated and there are fake plants everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Dear Shayne, Thank you for your review. You had 2 adults and 3 younger children. Generally, we do not have issues with accommodating a family of 5 in our standard room with 2 Queen Beds. We can even accommodate a fold away bed into the room when required. Over the last three years, we've updated in our guest rooms the following: bedding, beds, vanity counter tops to granite and carpet. We've done our best to modernize our hotel in a very difficult time economically. Regarding flowers, our hotel faces north to south so we receive very limited day light in the lobby. Any real flowers we've had in the past have not survived due to lack of sunlight. You had booked a NON-CANCELLABLE / NON-REFUNDABLE reservation for 3 nights. We charged you for one night out of a possible three. Please do not forget this detail for future reference. Sincerely, Bob
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, ab

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: convenience to my amenities
Cons: breakfast could change every second day
clean room and upgrades daily. Breakfast was very good and always fresh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

At least it was clean.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: We were travelling and the location was good and easy to find.
First was the shock of a cold room. Asked for help at the front desk, but was only instructed to check the air conditioning unit. The unit was unplugged and we figured out how to set the temperature and left for some food. The room was warm when we came back. My cell phone died so I had to use their phone, crawled around under the desk to plug it in. But the phone worked! Two double beds instead of the two queens we thought we ordered so my husband and I took one bed each. We were travelling for work and the room was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Dear Sophie, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. We do on occasion unplug the heating/AC units so that they can thaw out. Some guests prefer their room cold and turn on the AC. The weather is not quite warm enough for air conditioning so it causes the unit to freeze up. We forgot to plug it back in afterwards. Our standard room is a room with 2 Queen beds. 42 of our 59 rooms are of this type. We do not have any rooms with double beds in this property. Again, my sincere apologies. Sincerely, Bob
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: staff were pleasant
Cons: more attention to cleaning high traffic areas
Stayed here while visiting relatives in Stoney Plain. First room the TV did not work and had to be moved. Hallways and stairs were dirty with large clumps of mud that were there for several days. Due to a death in our family my trip was cut short from three nights to two. No refund was available according to the hotel staff since it was booked through Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I do apologize for any issue you may have encountered. The TVs sometimes become partially unplugged when being moved for cleaning or by guests unplugging different component cables for computers, gaming machines, etc. Also, if the Shaw cable box does not have an amber light indicating that it has power, then you would not receive a video signal. We have work crews in our hotel and they tend to constantly carry in the mud from job sites. Unfortunately, some guests are more considerate than others about ensuring they have a change of shoes handy prior to entering the hotel. As for the refund for checking out prior to your scheduled check out date, if you had booked a discounted rate non-cancellable / non-refundalbe reservation, then you would forfeit the remaining nights. My apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Sincerely, Bob
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff. Clean location and good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Very good room for the price. Had a fridge, coffee maker, ironing board & iron, hairdryer. The beds were very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N. Alberta

Very comfy mattress and pillows. Strange design rm

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The only reason that I gave three stars out of five for Comfort was because of the configuration of the room. The design was such that the sink was in the hallway and if someone went to the bathroom separate and apart from the sink and vanity area) & needed to wash their hands they would have to turn on the vanity lights which blinded you if you were sleeping. The toilet was too close to the wall for comfort but other than that for a king bed with a pull out in a divided room it wasn't bad. We didn't end up using the pull-out sofa so I can't speak to the Comfort on it. The shower had an issue with pressure more of a shower head problem it seemed) & functionality of the shower control to engage the shower but if it was totally unacceptable I guess I would have let them know. Not high end as far as furniture or design goes for hotels however you wouldn't expect real high-end from a chain like Travelodge because you're booking with Travelodge. Room was generally clean although they didn't leave us any fresh cups or new towels when they cleaned the room. But since it was just the two of us it didn't matter. We didn't try the continental breakfast this time but from what we could see it looked like standard fare. Next time I would probably book directly with Travelodge and not use another agent or site because I could have gotten and better price with an AMA card which I didn't know until check in. Overall not bad for the price though by comparison.
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Convenient and clean

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Our experience was really great, the staff were really friendly and accommodating. The hotel was clean and beds were comfortable.