Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Location and comfort. Lady on reception was excellent very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from earth

fab

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: people
Cons: not much
Location: paradise and no end of things to do
fab factor x 3 , chill factor x 2 , people factor x X, wow factor xv$$
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Overlooking harbour

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The warm welcome and friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Slightly hotter water and more pressure from the shower but this is only an observation not a complaint, we have had much worse in other hotels.
Location: Mon - Sat there are small museums to visit but unless walking or cycling hire a small car to explore the islands and villages.
Older style hotel overlooking the harbour. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent from the full breakfast to the varied evening meals, in fact we ate in the hotel restaurants each night as we enjoyed the food and service so much. Packed lunch can be supplied on request which is useful as much of Scotland observes the Sabbath and most places are closed on Sunday. Flying into and out of Stornoway airport was a joy... no queues for security or long waits before boarding and the air hostesses were so friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Don't your hotel to eat....

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Comfort, drinks and dining. The staff are very friendly
We have stayed here before and chose to return. If the weather is poor, don't despair. You don't need to leave this Hotel to have a wonderful experience. The 3 dining areas are to be recommended. We travelled from the south of the Hebrides to the north and The Royal had the best breakfast by far as well as the best dinner. The rooms were als very comfortable. # 27 has a lovely view. Well done Chef. Hopefully we will return, but from Australia.....we'll see
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Nice position overlooking harbour

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Comfy beds, nice location.
Cons: The Breakfasts
Location: Ideally situated in Stornaway for the ferry terminal and sightseeing.
We stayed at the Royal Hotel for 3 nights in February 2015 with friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable, nice white bedding and towels and our shower was ok although our friends really struggled! We had some nice evening meals downstairs in the Bistro but felt the breakfasts let them down. They were 'OK' but not great for the price charged. I believe the porrige was microwaved, mushrooms tinned,etc, overall not exciting!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the ferry

Posted Jun 16, 2014
quick visit and small room but easy to find and get in and out of. There was not enough parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt

Town Centre, excellent Staff

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Staff, Room 23
Cons: Makeover- a little tired.
Location: Town Centre location- 2m from Ferry. Great base for starting in the Hebrides. Plenty free parking outside and directly opposite.
2nd floor big room in the eaves- big comfy bed, big clean bathroom- big TV and most importantly for me FAST wifi! All staff were lovely, food was great (1kg pot of mussels is well recommended) Hotel itself (Not my room) could do with a lick of paint and a makeover but nothing wrong with it- a little tired that's all. I will definately stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Preston

4 star price for a 2 star hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2012
Pros: the food in the restaurant
Cons: poor value for money
Location: good position near the centre of Stornoway
The hotel is very well situated near the centre of Stornoway. Apparently it is part way through a renovation process and there is a definite need for some of the common areas and the carpets everywhere to be upgraded. The price we paid was not cheap and we did not feel that it represented value for money. However we did have an excellent experience in the bistro restaurant, where the quality of the food and the service was first-class. Breakfast was also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mo and Wilf from Salford, UK

The place to stay in Stornoway!

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff and the lovely Scottish breakfasts
Cons: Lack of shelves in the bathroom is the only thing we would change
Location: Perfect position for its views and its convenience
The hotel occupies a prime position in Stornoway. It overlooks overlooks the harbour and all the town's amenities are very close by. Recent improvements have taken place and these work well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Mark from Dumfries & Galloway

Stornoway Hideaway

Posted Jul 10, 2011
The Royal Stornoway is a very comfortable hotel in the centre of Stornoway. It isn't cheap however the food and service are good so I would say it is value for money.