Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eden Prairie, MN

Nice small- town place to stay

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: They have brft in the AM.
Cons: The window screens could be repaired, so you could leave your window at night.
Location: Story City is a nice little town with a cute downtown area. There is a carousel, golf course, parks and swinging bridge on your way into town.
Pleasant motel off I-35 in a small town. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, so it was nice for what we needed it for. Usually, a small town motel is just needed for the bed and in and out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Odor

Posted May 13, 2017
Strange odor in room. Nice size. Breakfast area too small
3 out of 5
by Jolene

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Sheets were stained, bathroom smelled of mildew
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wichita, KS

Aging hotel with excellent staff

Posted May 2, 2017
The hotel shows normal wear and tear, but the stuff made up for anything that was lacking . Everything was clean and the room was quiet.
1 out of 5
by Marshall

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
We made our reservations earlier in the day and when we went to check in at the hotel there were was no room for us there. The guy at the front desk was very rude and claimed there were no rooms available. The stay was just over night. Since we went through an online thing we were not able to get refunded. It was a complete rip off and I personally would never deal with them again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
We were only staying one night for a college visit to ISU. We arrived late at 7pm. All rooms were sold out and they gave us a smoking room and it smelled like it had never been cleaned or aired out. the floor was sticky and even the bed linens had burn holes in them. would not recommend this hotel. I will spend the extra money next time. I have learned a lesson about getting what I paid for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good enough to get the job done

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Nothing luxurious, but good enough. If you are just looking for a place to stay and aren't interested in anything more than comfort and a good nights sleep, this is your place. Nothing was spectacular, but nothing was bad either. It gets the job done.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I State trip

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
served us great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gross

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: All of it.
Location: Near the interstate.
Smells horrible. 20 year old blankets with cigarette burns and "other." Truely earful place to stay.