Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
thought breakfast could of offered some more items, but ok for stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Broken Arrow, OK

Bad, Bad, Bad

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: It has DirecTV.
Cons: Cleanliness, odor, toilet, bed.
Room was very old. When I opened the door to the room, there was an overwhelming smell of Pinesol. Like they were trying to cover up another horrible odor. During the night when I woke, that smell made me nauseous. Made it difficult to sleep. Bed was lumpy. Bedspread felt dirty. Bathroom toilet seat was too small for a normal sized adult to use. I've never seen a toilet seat that small except for children's bathrooms in elementary schools. I was on the first floor and the floor creaked everywhere I walked. Was afraid I would fall through it, though I didn't know to where since I was on the first floor. I selected oatmeal for breakfast, but there were no spoons. The utensils were next to the cereal selections and there were no spoons. Who can eat cereal with a fork? I had scheduled to return to the hotel 10 days later on my trip home. I cancelled, even though I had a non-cancellation reservation. It was worth the cost to not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Nice hotel near expressway

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: See above.
Location: Very close to Ames and Des Moines is not very far.
Easy to find. Plenty of parking. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Clean rooms and lobby. Breakfast included. What more could you want.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eden Prairie, MN

Nice small- town place to stay

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: They have brft in the AM.
Cons: The window screens could be repaired, so you could leave your window at night.
Location: Story City is a nice little town with a cute downtown area. There is a carousel, golf course, parks and swinging bridge on your way into town.
Pleasant motel off I-35 in a small town. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, so it was nice for what we needed it for. Usually, a small town motel is just needed for the bed and in and out.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
The first room the beds had hair in them, but the staff worked with us and got us another room, it did have a very damp smell to it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Odor

Posted May 13, 2017
Strange odor in room. Nice size. Breakfast area too small
3 out of 5
by Jolene

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Sheets were stained, bathroom smelled of mildew
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wichita, KS

Aging hotel with excellent staff

Posted May 2, 2017
The hotel shows normal wear and tear, but the stuff made up for anything that was lacking . Everything was clean and the room was quiet.
1 out of 5
by Marshall

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
We made our reservations earlier in the day and when we went to check in at the hotel there were was no room for us there. The guy at the front desk was very rude and claimed there were no rooms available. The stay was just over night. Since we went through an online thing we were not able to get refunded. It was a complete rip off and I personally would never deal with them again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels