Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Older hotel in poor condition

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Good value
Cons: Needs updating with replacement of carpets and fabric items
Location: Nearby independently run family restaurant was also a disappointment, drive to Ames instead
We had no difficulty checking in but found that the hallways and the room itself were in poor condition with lingering odors. The top sheet was missing from one of the two beds in our room and since we needed both beds we had to re-make the bed ourselves since housekeeping had gone home and we did not want to switch rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Was comfortable. Starting to show its age-missing a tv watching chair, the clock didn't work. Refrigerator and microwave are nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Condemn

Posted Oct 22, 2017
The place stinks. The smoke alarm was hanging off the ceiling. You could not use the clock. I paid $90.00 for this room. I paid the same price at a Country Inn and Suites in a large city and actually had a nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
thought breakfast could of offered some more items, but ok for stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run don't stay here

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
The room was supposed to be on the first floor due to health issues, it was on the second floor. Room was a smoking room, requested a non smoking, floor tiles broken in the bathroom hair in shower and sink. Bugs on bedspread went and bought bed bug spray. They double charged us, when I showed them they did Manger called me a liar. He takes no responsibility it's always someone else's fault... I wouldn't stay here again if it was free room for a year anytime.
3 out of 5
by Tina

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable ,clean but coffe maker didn't work
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Broken Arrow, OK

Bad, Bad, Bad

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: It has DirecTV.
Cons: Cleanliness, odor, toilet, bed.
Room was very old. When I opened the door to the room, there was an overwhelming smell of Pinesol. Like they were trying to cover up another horrible odor. During the night when I woke, that smell made me nauseous. Made it difficult to sleep. Bed was lumpy. Bedspread felt dirty. Bathroom toilet seat was too small for a normal sized adult to use. I've never seen a toilet seat that small except for children's bathrooms in elementary schools. I was on the first floor and the floor creaked everywhere I walked. Was afraid I would fall through it, though I didn't know to where since I was on the first floor. I selected oatmeal for breakfast, but there were no spoons. The utensils were next to the cereal selections and there were no spoons. Who can eat cereal with a fork? I had scheduled to return to the hotel 10 days later on my trip home. I cancelled, even though I had a non-cancellation reservation. It was worth the cost to not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Nice hotel near expressway

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: See above.
Location: Very close to Ames and Des Moines is not very far.
Easy to find. Plenty of parking. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Clean rooms and lobby. Breakfast included. What more could you want.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Location: good location, close to food, gas and freeway
Hotel was average, breakfast was sub-standard, air conditioning not working in one of my two rooms. Had to relocate to different room.
1 out of 5
by Julie

Very dirty and smelly

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
We were in Ames for soccer. We couldn't get a room in Ames, so we settled for Story City. The Super 8 was filthy. I took a shower with flip flops on, if that tells you anything. Never again!!