Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Canada

Lovely little hotel!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Lovely! Tasteful decorating and really comfortable spaces. Oozes old English charm.
Cons: I thought this hotel was good value for money.
Location: Stow-on-the-wold is a lovely old English town that is full of good food and local shops.
This was a delight! The room was absolutely lovely and really comfortable. The bathroom was big (even by North American standards) and well appointed. There was a deep bathtub and a two head shower. We ate dinner there both nights that we were in the area because the first meal was outstanding. I could not think of a better experience in the lovely Cotswolds!
1 out of 5
by Alex

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
On our way to the hotel for the weekend we received a phone call from a different hotel asking 'if they should be expecting us'. This was the first thing we heard of a mistake with our booking. We called The Porch House straight away who were very matter a fact about this, and said while they a confirmed booking for us they had moved us -without our knowledge- to a 'sister' hotel over the road. As we knew nothing of this and were understandably annoyed having found out through someone else, and only 1 hr before check in. To top that, this was not done properly and resulted in the sister hotel was saying they had no room for us and that they were attempting to find us a place to stay (in the Cotswolds on a Saturday in July?!). The Porch House were not alarmed that we were upset or that we had confirmation from Hotels.com about staying at their hotel. Despite us protesting that we booked in April and wanted to get to the bottom of what happened he simply said 'the hotel across the road would deal directly with us'. They were defensive instead of apologetic and the tone was suggestive of this being our fault. The frustration was clear in our voices and yet still the Porch House had no answer or didn't seem to care. In fact what they said was 'I cant magic up a room madam', regardless of the fact we had booked months in advance. I have since noticed very similar reviews from other people. I would avoid booking with this hotel. Their customer service is disgraceful.
3 out of 5
by James

Could be much, much better....

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in a fantastic location, possibly its best selling point. Parking free around the area. I called to book a table for dinner after booking two rooms through Hotels.com; they had no record of me but eventually they found it. Rooms were nice, clean & comfortable. Bathrooms small and sinks almost unusable as so tiny. Public areas charming and spacious. Some very odd behaviours with staff.... one girl serving me in the bar asked me the same question three times about my day - clearly she didn't bother listening to my reply and was on auto-pilot! We were told we could eat in the courtyard but that there would be no table service - so we wondered how that would actually work? In the end they did actually provide table service and the food was good. I called reception around midnight to request if they would ask the people in the courtyard, who were being very loud, to keep the noise levels down. I was working next morning and it was preventing me from sleeping. No hint of an apology but it did get quieter. The owners' young children breakfasted with the guests but regularly shouted when they wanted something, not ideal first thing. I decided I would not stay here again when I was handed the bill by one of the owners/managers. Not a hint of "we hope you enjoyed your stay with us", just "please put your PIN number in the machine". I think some training from the top down would work wonders. Will stay at Fish Hotel, Broadway instead!
3 out of 5
by Jinwook

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Alan

Jury is out on the Porch House

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
We were a bit unhappy with The Porch House. Whilst it is supposed to be the oldest Inn in England and it is certainly very quaint, there were far too many niggly problems which slightly spoiled our break. The hotel has a labyrinth of corridors and extensions which made it difficult to navigate. Our room was enormous albeit it was accessed via a very steep flight of stairs. No good for me as I'm wearing an orthopaedic boot at the moment. There was a feature bath at one end of the room situated in front of a window but also a separate shower room with a modern enclosed shower which was very nice. Niggles with the room included telephone did not work and they were unable to repair it during our stay. Neither TV worked albeit the controls just needed batteries. The bed was comfortable and compared to some other rooms we were very pleased with ours. I found the staff a little 'distant' and generally not too friendly. Not rude or unhelpful but they seemed unable to deal with our requests or even point us in the direction of our room. They also conveniently forgot to acknowledge my wife's 65th birthday despite me telling them in advance. They did give us a bottle of Prosecco when I reminded them, not that they had to. We had no problem but parking is limited. Breakfast was adequate but we chose to eat dinner elsewhere due to what we feel was a limited menu. Great location though. It’s a shame to rate this hotel a 3 but frankly it wasn't cheap and didn’t deserve more..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from herts

Porch House and The Sheep

Posted May 14, 2017
Cons: Communication between kitchen and bar staff. Booking system.
Booked the Porch via expedia but was transferred to The Sheep as fully booked. Had lunch at Porch which was forgotten in kitchen and left for over half an hour. Totally dried out but no replacement offered as kitchen then closed. Although Porch was not understaffed, the restaurant at The Sheep was understaffed (same owners !) and evening meal took over two hours for two courses ( we gave up on trying to order dessert) Perhaps a family run hotel would have given better service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a great location but small room.

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel serving excellent food including breakfast. The only disappointment was that the room was very small for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Nearly Great

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Old school, not generic, homely, historical
Cons: See above - consistency, communication, professionalism, customer service among younger staff - BUT above all, having experienced management on site
Location: Wonderful old Cotswold town - whether you want to pub crawl, shop for antiques, walk in the country, live history...it has it all
Recommended to me, what was not to like about the Porch House? Well, with the manager on holiday and the assistant manager away for a couple of days, it was - no offense - in the hands of (forgive me, I'm now officially old) kids. So when the shower didn't work properly it was handled as well as it possibly could but I only found this out upon leaving. When I arrived at the bar 30 minutes before closing only to be told - with some attitude - "it was quiet night so we've cashed up, you can't buy a drink", it all ended well but not without unnecessary drama. My review would have been poor but for the fact that when I checked out there was an acknowledgement of the issues, an apology and a generous rebate. IF this same great customer service had been consistent throughout the issues, then it would be a 5/5 review. Anyway, lovely, historical, homely place. And special shout out to stand in manager Launa who was just great. I would cautiously return.
3 out of 5
by derek

thinks its better than it is

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel was ok but cant say it was outstanding! The room was very small and the bathroom even smaller! The service in the restaurant was poor the staff seemed more interested in talk to their mates rather than serving the customers. Food was ok but again not outstanding. Would we stay again? probably not
5 out of 5
by Sara

Great Find, Lovely friendly Hotel.

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed at the Porch house on Friday night, found the hotel very friendly and the room was cozy, the hotel was very clean and we had booked a table for dinner and the food was fantastic, would defiantly recommend it to friends and would come back and stay again.