Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Diana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT SO GOOD FOR NEW ENGLAND.

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
First the dirt drive and parking was muddy with pot holes and somewhat hidden concrete obstruction. Grass was not cut nor was the lawn maintained. Shower and sink did not drain well and the management had a tin ear. Food was good but the cleanliness was not what we would expect in New England. No place to hang clothing. Otherwise the staff was very friendly but a little passive. There was no comfortable seating in the room. The price was reasonable and that might make it so that you could overlook the mud and inside dust.
5 out of 5
by Laureen

Loved this place!

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
This is a quaint, clean, family owned business that caters to their customers. If you like comfort, cleanliness, and being treated like you were their only customer this is the place for you. Laid back, relaxing with all the comforts of home without having to lift a finger yourself. And let's not forget you get served an amazing, home cooked breakfast! Only downfall, no hair dryers in the rooms. Not the end of the world!!
5 out of 5
by Leonid

Charming B&B very close to the mountains

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
This place is absolutely charming. We had the best sleep at that B&B during our short trip. We adored our room. It definitely has a character. We enjoyed the full breakfast. We liked the fact that the breakfast tables are shared with other guests, so that you could socialize with them. The location is great as well, Very close to Smugglers Notch and Von Trapp's Lodge - two landmarks not to be missed.
4 out of 5
by Donovan

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
An older place run nicely. Our breakfast with other guests was fun. Not fancy but fine for simple tastes. No TV in our room a slight minus.
1 out of 5
by Marvin P

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Matthew

average.

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Not bad for a little place. A bit further away from Waterbury than we thought. Very friendly people. Bathroom was not good - everything clogged up as we first arrived.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017
Matthew Thank you for your review, we are sorry you had issues with the bathroom, unfortunately if housekeeping or the guests don't tell us we can't fix the issue. We hope that we were able to fix that issue for you Carolyn & Bill
4 out of 5
by Ryan

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017
Ryan Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us at The Bears Lair Inn Carolyn & Bill
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

different

Posted Aug 27, 2017
from the outside it looks different but then again its not a motel it turned out to be a pleasant experience the only issue is no tv in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by bear, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The site Expedia made for us does not say we have tv's in the rooms, like many small Bed and Breakfasts. If this is important to you, may I suggest you check the amenities before booking, in the future, if it is not listed then it is not available. We are sorry if having a TV in the room was important to you and we do not have one in the room. Carolyn & Bill
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glastonbury, CT

Nice inn close to the woods

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The inn is like going back to the time No TV in the room . Everything is old style
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Bear, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. By old I hope you mean reading and spending quality time with the person you are travelling with. As all our rooms have been recently redecorated. Again thank you for your positive review. Carolyn & Bill