Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by eva from Sudbury Massachusettts

Sweet location and large room

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
I have not been to Stowe in several years. I picked the Bears Lair Inn because of the awesome and delicious breakfast and the large clean room. The location is perfect next to the Matterhorn Bar for the Apres Bar Skiing and the restaurants nearby. I highly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed our stay.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. We loved the choices for a full breakfast. the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is near Mr. Mansfield so we were able to get to the mountain early!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, spruce up needed

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to Stowe ski area - so that's a big plus. But the overall appearance did not match photos online. Everything (including the voluminous numbers of stuffed bears in every corner) seemed a little worn and there were a few repairs that need doing in the room, including faucet that didn't drain directly into drain but spurted onto my clothes. There is also an unpleasant smell in the lobby and dining area, possibly related to the kitchen (our bedroom smelled fine). At breakfast, the smell put a damper on my appetite, despite the nice looking breakfast. Overall, decent prices and one of the best locations (only 5 min. drive to the mountain). But some sprucing up would make the place appear (and smell) fresher.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lorraine from Nashua NH

Stowe was the destination!

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
Bicycling and dining did not disappoint. The Inn is dated but very comfortable. It was also clean. Breakfast offered a selection and was prepared hot upon serving. Bill, the hotelier, was only a phone call away and we exchanged pleasantries. We did miss not having the hot tub after hours of cycling. Dang! Location for us was perfect, close to all the attractions yet far enough away from the hubbub. Not sure what the weekend would have been like but that is another trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel in area

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Was alright for the area considering it was affordable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Misled from New England

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
Overpriced. When I booked, the room was advertised as the only one left. In fact, I was the only guest. All other rooms were unsold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very Close to Stowe Mt

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels
Good place to stay if you want to be close to Stowe Mt. It's just a few miles down the road from Mt. Mansfield. Very simple, older but clean B&B. No frills, No TV in rooms, No Wi-Fi. Breakfast was from 8-9:30am and was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nathan from NYC

Great clean place right next to Stowe Mountain

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels
We were lucky enough to find a room available here while planning a very last-minute President's Day weekend trip. Based on some of the other reviews here, we didn't know what to expect. Once we arrived though, we quickly became glad we found this place. It may be "showing its age" a bit, but our room and all common areas were *immaculately* clean. Delicious filling breakfast was included. We stayed in the basic room (not a suite) and it was plenty comfortable. Staff were nice and helpful. Did I mention it's 1.2 miles from the Toll House chairlift? I will definitely stay here next time I want to ski at Stowe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay close to everything

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, comfy bed and close to everything. What else could you ask for?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terry from Southern Vermont

rooms clean, comfortable, great breakfast, rate hi

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Convenient to Stowe, clean, comfortable, great breakfast
Cons: Outside of building was not too appealing, rate was very high for what we got, inside old and bathrooms not really up to date
Location: Great location, lots to do in Stowe and Waterbury