Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
It was great, just make sure if you get a room with a fire place you bring your own tinder to start the fire
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good but bathroom could benefit from an update.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Great location, comfortable beds. Bathroom is outdated. No cold water in the room which was weird. Restaurant took a very long time to bring the food but when it arrived, it was delicious. All in all a good spot to rest your head while in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Hartford, United States of America

Our yearly visit

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: We find their location convenient with restaurants, galleries, and a movie theater within an easy walk, but still drive into the town proper.
Each year we go to Stowe during the 3rd week of October, and we stay at the Golden Eagle. Our rooms have been simple, modestly decorated, and some were in need of sprucing up. We spend most of our time riding around the area, so we don't require much. The motel is in a quiet area, and the beds and pillows are very comfortable to us. That is an important thing when you come in after a long day of touring. There is a lovely lobby in the office area where you can find a computer, upholstered seating around a fireplace, and beverages and cookies from 4-6 PM. There is a restaurant on the property which serves breakfast and lunch where we have had good food. There is an indoor pool and exercise equipment. Since we only come in the late Fall, we do not know the full extent of their facilities. There is a daily charge for these amenities whether you use them or not.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quaint

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Walking distance to shops & restaurants.
Vermont typical, full of charm. Clean, and comfortable, although main areas need some updating. The hotel restaurant serves a great breakfast, at a reasonable price. Very attentive staff!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Great location and nice resort. room is quite old.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good quality bed,

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Pool area, bed, comfortable rooms,
Cons: gravel drive outside room,
Location: walk across the street to cinema and the Bench for dinner
Located on large site, rooms somewhat spread outer the resort, cafe breakfast was good and pool area very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Pleasant lodgings

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Good location within 15 mins walk to the main street. Large room with comfortable lounge area and specious bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Close to town
Cons: Old and run down
Old facility. Grounds have cracked sidewalks. Dingy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Cons: The room was very nice, the bathroom was very clean but needs to be refurbished.
This hotel is located in the perfect spot. Its a very nice place to stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muncy

Disappointed yet again!

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Over the last 27 years I have been to the Golden Eagle three times. They are under new ownership and claim they have updated the rooms. Save your money if you're looking for somewhere nice to stay. The room I had was exactly the same as it was 27 years ago only more musty. When I turned the faucet on in the sink, the water ran orange for the first five minutes. The shower had NO water pressure and trickled water. The drain did not work in the tub and I ended up standing in above the ankle water to shower. The air conditioner window unit was located in the bathroom area and blew musty air that did not adequately cool the room. This will be the last time I stay at the Golden Eagle, as I was extremely dissatisfied.