Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mass

Nice location

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The location of the place was very close to everything and right on mountain road and the pool and hit tub were also very conveniently placed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a bad last minute option, but not great...

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The staff is incredibly friendly. Although I can't really comment on the maid service. I stayed for three nights and my bed was made only once.
Cons: Fix the outlets. None of my charger plugs would stay in the outlets. It was like there was zero tension keeping them in. Also, daily maid service.
Location: Breweries, many restaurants, skiing. Vermont makes money from tourism. It's worth the trip. The food is great, and the beer is world class.
The hotel is just another hotel among a stream of places to stay scattered around Stowe. I planned this trip last minute and was in dire need of a room that was near some friends, and wasn't too expensive. Upon reviewing provided images (which look amazing), I booked Room 6 and thought it was a steal. While the staff was incredibly friendly, I can't help but feel disappointed with the actual room. I inspected my room and was satisfied with the "appearance" of cleanliness. The bed looked inviting and cozy. I thought, "Just like the pictures." A blend of modern looks with traditional ski-lodge resort dressings. The next morning, prior to bathing, I noticed noticed hair in the shower, gross. There was a noticeable bleach stain on the carpet, which while better than say a bodily fluid stain, is not something I expected from a resort hotel. The room didn't have a microwave and the tiny fridge was something my grandmother had in her garage in the early 1990's. I returned to my room after a day spent galavanting around the state. Upon entering, the smoke alarm/carbon monoxide detector was chirping. The front desk came to investigate and had to eventually remove the device because they couldn't detect the malfunction. It wasn't a battery issue at the device was hardwired. I was fine with this because I was tired and just wanted to sleep, but reflection causes concern. What if there was an actual safety issue? Obviously I'm fine, but what if?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Comfortable hotel perfectly situated

Posted Oct 17, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Mountain View Resort. Our room was spacious with a balcony affording great vistas. The continental breakfast was adequate and was included in the room rate which was affordable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Common areas beautiful, rooms disappointing.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location, continental breakfast, lobby and pool/sauna.
Cons: The room and its accommodations.
Set in a strip motel format, the hotel for all intents and purposes looks well kept and updated. Admittedly, the grounds are lovely and the lobby is beautiful and modern. But ultimately, i stay at a hotel and what matters most is the room. This is where the good impressions end. Stained carpet, peeling wallpaper, mismatched decor, cheap rough sheets and one of the worst mattresses I've slept on all brought down my rating significantly. I suggest the hotel focus on modernizing and updating the rooms that guests actually stay in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Smugglers notch, downtown stowe, Mt Mansfield
Spacious, close to downtown and other restaurants . Kitchen is ok , not many options for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, lovely views!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location, decor, free breakfast
Cons: The wifi could have been better
Location: Many hiking trails, ponds, scenic drives, zip tours, gondola, horse carriage rides, recreation paths, breweries, farmers markets, Ben & Jerry's...
Lovely location and nice views! The room was huge and definitely had a ski lodge feel. I couldn't connect to the wifi the first day, which was annoying as I hadn't researched what I was going to do in the area and had intended to do so at the lodge and my data roaming had run out. But the second night, after a few hours the internet was fine! Breakfast was simple but sufficient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what the pictures show.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The Charmonix Room I stayed in had dirty carpets and outdated furniture. The knobs on all the sinks were broken and the room smelled odd. Everything about the room screamed 80s horror movie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Great location, great value

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Well located, updated and very clean, great value for money, welcoming staff. Not the most comfortable bed but for the price I would stay again and recommended to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Just OK

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Close to most things
Cons: Cleanliness, wifi
Location: Close to Alchemist brewery
Spent 3 nights. Woman checking us in was pleasant. Room has nice size bathroom. Room was decent size. Looked ok. Mattress was a bit lumpy. It's the little things sometimes. No trash can in bathroom. When room was cleaned, no refill on shampoo and conditioner. Dropped something, and found bottle caps under bed. Free wifi, but it didn't reach our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old and run down

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Don't let the pictures fool you. This is an old motel that is slightly renovated. Room had musty smell, very small tv, mold under the rotten wood floor in the indoor pool room and the reception staff could be more friendly. For about the same amount of money you're better off renting at the best western or Marriott that are just down the street.