Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baldwinsville, NY

Amazing views

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere, design and overall feel.
Cons: I think the staff should be more on the same page. Sometimes we would get different answers from different people on the same topic.
Location: Zip line, hiking and visiting the cute town of Stowe
Nestled in the middle of Stowe mountain this resort has absolutely beautiful views out every window. There are many activities to do during the summer as well as the winter. We enjoyed the zip line and wanted to hike the mountain. They thought of everything from breakfast snacks on the go to fire pit with smores. The lobby is very relaxing and cozy. Worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Stowe Mountain Lodge and we are thrilled you enjoyed your experience. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly incorporate your suggested areas of improvement into our staff training going forward. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great Summer Trip But Manage Expectations

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Rooms and pool.
Cons: Maintenance and staff training.
Location: Close to ski, zipline, aerial course, hiking, biking, kayaking. Resort offers little on its own, so either bring equipment or pay significantly.
We went during 4th of July week with 3 kids. Room: The rooms are very comfortable and well done. Clean and new feeling. The door lock to the patio didn't work, but maintenance fixed. The views from the hotel are great. The sheets were luxurious and the fold out couch was the most comfortable I've ever seen. Amenities: The pool is great and has a resort feel. There generally are no are resort based activities or things to do for free. There are lots of activities on the mountain (aerial course; zip line) but those are expensive. You can always bike ride or kayak and those are free if you bring your own. That said, the pool is great, so that is a big plus. The gym was big and nice, with lots of equipment, but several machines were out of order, and the one I used made a scraping metal-on-metal sound. Staff: The staff all seemed new and weren't sure how to do things. The restaurant was very slow and seemed understaffed. My guess - and it's just a guess - is that they probably train during the summer. Overall, had a wonderful time and glad to have chosen the Stowe Mountain Lodge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Stowe Mountain Lodge and for your feedback. We're always looking for ways to improve so we can provide our guests with the best experience possible. Sorry about the treadmills being out of service. We are aware of the issue and the good news is we have new ones arriving on Monday. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

First time to Stowe!!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
It was our first time to Stowe and we booked after hearing such wonderful things from a family member about the area. Our trip was planned around an entire day at their Spa with a more relaxation based itenerary. The spa was the highlight of my trip!!! We enjoyed a couples massage, a facial, and two focused massages; scalp and leg and feet, then enjoyed all the spa had to offer with the steam room, tub, and sanctuary where we relaxed. Our room was the small suite and had a small kitchen with full cooking ability and even a washer and dryer! When we return next time we plan on biking and hiking and having a full kitchen will be great for cooking in some nights. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets are amazing!!! They use a sheet that is spa based and we want to buy a set later on that's how soft they were! We enjoyed the Hourglass Bar and tasted local beers and some really yummy snacks! The bartending staff were very friendly and helped us decide on a dinner location. What stood out to us was the concierge staff and their attention to detail! We accidentally left a bag in our room and they shipped it to us the next day!! We had wonderful views of the mountain from our room which I added, with a nice deck to sit and relax while taking in the views both day and night. The resort had plenty of walking and hiking paths which we adventured out for a small hike one afternoon. Definitely worth a return visit to see more in the mountains and of Stowe!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Stowe Mountain Lodge. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you back again soon!
5 out of 5
by Edward

Winter Escape

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great time and experience, loved the resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Nice place to experience

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Cons: I would have liked more photos on their website. It would have been good to know that the outdoor pool is heated and usable in the winter as well.
Location: I think the location is beautiful, the hotel sits in between mountain peaks. The views are beautiful. I went skiing and thought it was very good.
I came for two days prepared to chill and read. After the snow started falling I could not resist and added half a day of skiing which was great. This place is not the easiest to get to, as there are no shuttles, etc. You either drive or hire a transport service, for about $100 one way. I thought the place was really nice. Everything from the room, the common areas, outdoor and indoor activities for adults as well as kids. There is little bit of everything. The staff is wonderful! Very relaxed atmosphere. The only negative thing is that I think it is somewhat overpriced but I do not have much to compare it with from this area.
4 out of 5
by Alexander

Just short of great but lots of fun.

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Our family spent a week at the Stowe Mountain Lodge this March. We are not skiers but wanted to experience the snow and other amenities for our spring vacation. The Lodge was very nice, the location is beautiful and the staff was fantastic. The layout of the hotel is a little awkward if you are staying in the South wing. The room that we were in was fine but we were surprised at the lack of usable space which may have been due to the fact that it was a wheelchair accessible room. I did feel that the prices for some of the amenities and especially the food and beverage were a bit exorbitant. I expected resort prices but $80 for an OK breakfast buffet for 2 adults and 1 child was a bit much. The resort was good and we had lots of fun but I would probably go another route if I had it to do again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Turn off the cookies

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Room was terrific with great views. Food was good but overpriced and the waiter did not know about wine. Several wines were not available in the more reasonable price range. Major complaint is that since returning home, I have been inundated with ads from the resort every time I open a search engine. Very intrusive and enough to prevent any future visits..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paoli, PA

Beautiful facility. Great location. Great amenitie

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Ski conditions were unfortunately not good due to unseasonably warm weather and high winds but the hotel experience was delightful and very relaxing Will return
5 out of 5
by Christopher

True resort in the mountains

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Absence of outlets was only issue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southwest CT

Exceptional service

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Service, service, service.
If you have small kids the service was great. It's worth the money.