Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

beautiful , charming, cozy.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Austrian decor, fires in the fireplaces (It's Jan), cozy, comfortable, beautiful surrounding and views. I LOVE it yet it, it's pricey.
Cons: If you're interested in meeting the vonTrapp family, then you'll be disappointed. Only ones you'll see are employees.
Location: Lots of things to do in Stowe! The disadvantage - the lodge is on a mountaintop away from everything else so you need to drive everywhere.
Pros - charming, beautiful, cozy, kind of historic, very "Austrian", delicious food, beautiful view. Many things to do on the property - fitness, yoga, pools, snowshoeing, cross country ski,(obviously we were here in winter ) , complimentary tea and cookies in the afternoon. Lots of Trapp family and Sound of Music memorabilia throughout the lodge. Cons - If you're a Sound of Music fan, you'll be very disappointed to find out that the "Trapp Family Lodge" is not full of Trapp family working everywhere that you can meet. The few that do run it are behind the scenes doing business stuff, not greeting their guests. Of course, the Trapp family has been divided about being available to the public because the movie and play presented many inaccuracies. Apparently Maria herself used to greet her guests but she's been gone more than 20 years now. All the people that you see, the front desk folks, servers, etc are all employees just like anywhere else. Some may not come expecting to see many Trapp family, but we did. It's isolated from the village of Stowe so nothing is walkable if you wanted to go another restaurant etc. They have lots of things to do on the property, however just about everything costs....almost like the feeling they're nickle and diming you to death. When you're paying a couple hundred dollars per night you don't really feel like you should pay $50 for a family to sleigh ride, or $45 to do this or that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation Spot

Posted Jan 17, 2016
We went to the Von Trapp Lodge for a mini vacation and it was rejuvenating! The staff was very helpful, the food was great and the cross country skiing was wonderful! I started off my day in a beautiful yoga class which was so relaxing! We enjoyed a lot of the family activities and were able to relax at tea time. I will certainly be going back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shelburne, VT

Winter wonderland stay

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: For Trapp Family enthusiasts the walls are covered with photos and short histories. Learn a lot, thought I knew it all.
Cons: Needs a map of lodge lay out. Got lost once.
Location: Lodge is on an east facing mountain, 4 miles north of Stowe, VT and in the middle of the ski areas. Very convenient for winter or summer activities.
Celebrated our anniversary at Trapp Lodge. Easy, quick, friendly check-in; great room with very comfortable bed. Romantic dinner in dining room with candles on table and a snow view out the windows; extensive, HOT, buffet breakfast followed by a brisk 3-4 miles snowshoe trek up the mountain. If you don't have the equipment (we did) it is available at the Nordic hut. Extra time - shop and tour famous Stowe, VT. Can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
by Grant

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westmount, Quebec

Needs repair

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: The pool. The pomegranate cocktail. The hot stone massage.
Cons: The usually good meals were awful. The pasta was not cooked enough, clumped together and the wrong sausages were served to my husband.
Location: Hike, ski, swim
Given a room where the metal cover was off the baseboard heater at the door, the stuffing was coming out of the sofa pillows and the adjoining door to the next room was so thin, we could hear the guests whispering to one another in bed and using their toilet. The mattress was so old it was like sleeping in a moving boat. Since we travel to the area once a month and have often stayed at the Trapp, a sympathetic front desk clerk said we would hear from the management. It is Dec. 3 and we have yet to hear a word of apology since our Oct. 30th stay.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Deborah

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
My only problem was with my reservation process, a manager was suppossed to get back to me about changing credit cards, and then never did. The hotel was wonderful though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Food atrocious! Old outdated room

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Paper thin walls. Noisy pricy for what you get small room. Tiny bathroom
3 out of 5
by Daniel from Cambridge, MA

80s Makeover

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
I was very excited to get away from the city and relax in the mountains. I was a bit disappointed just after check-in. The main lodge needs a serious overhaul. Very 80s throughout with a disgustingly soiled, "crispy" rug in my room, frayed at the door frames. Only 10 local channels o. The TV. The main dining hall was quite cute and the breakfast buffet was good. Dinner in the lounge was over salted. This was off season so very very little to do. The pool I was looking forward to swimming in was 4'4" deep and full of small children. I left after only 1 night. I would recommend families only for this destination.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Stunning

Posted Nov 1, 2015
A relaxing and beautiful place to visit and stay. Excellent food. Spacious comfortable rooms. Wonderful amenities; deli, outdoor activities, leisure centre and spa facilities. Movies shown daily, some linked to the Trapps some not. Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night, therefore were not there for the talk and tour by a Trapp family member. Would definitely visit again. Stunning views and scenery! A must for any Von Trapp fans!