Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millbrook, NY

The Woods Are Alive With the Sound of Music

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Ambience, food, facilities.
Cons: Maybe some of the seasonal staff needs a bit of polishing, but nothing to complain about. This is Vermont and not Austria.
Location: Stowe is one of the best all season resorts in the USA. Skiing good for Northeast. Summer months pleasant and relaxing. Fall of course unique.
My wife, daughter and son spent the weekend at Trapp, attending a Bridal Dinner there the first night. The dinner menu was excellent. Lobster bisque, halibut, etc. The ambience in the Mozart Room was spectacular. Pure Austrian. We got up the next morning a bit worse for ware, but after dropping our children off at the mountain for some good skiing, we quickly bounced back after a workout in the fitness center, yoga, and some congenial conversation in the sauna with an attractive German couple. This is our favorite resort hotel in the USA. OK... Colorado and Utah have better skiing, but from the point of view of ambience. Trapp has it all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Friendly staff but lacks organization, our room had a metallic noise coming from the ceiling all night. There was a "water" leak into the main restaurant during breaks days from a room above it, the manager didn't close the restaurant, instead they all act it wasn't happening, the leak was right next the buffet table
3 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
I made this trip with 6 grand-daughters, who all sing and play musical instruments. I was surprised their was no music playing in the lobby or halls, I don't know, thought it would be nice. All the kids were looking forward to being in the pool on our arrival night( they are kids after all) but it was closed, due to a private party, I didn't think that was very nice and I was not notified until check in. Some consideration $ should have been made considering an amenity of the lodge was not available. I expressed my disappointment at check-in but was just told sorry even though the hotel knew in advance the pool would be unavailable that night. We do not travel extensively, this was an extravagant trip for us and felt let down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The most reliable snow for cross-country skiing in New England right outside the door. Good atmosphere. Pool. Will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really lovely lodge, no-holds-barred

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: With no mini-bar, and no vending machines that I could find, I had a hard time getting something cold to quell my stomach in the middle of the nght.
Location: Great skiing, food, kayaking and sights
Great experience- although don't go if you're not fond of 'the Sound of Music'! the ski trails are really top-class, food is excellent and staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Cindy

Perfect place to get away

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
We spent one night. On the first day we enjoyed nordic skiing on the trails. We snowshoed later in the day. We enjoyed the hot tub. The film about Maria Von Trapp was fascinating. We also read a lot about the family in the book in the room. Interesting!! The next day we went skiing at Stowe. It was a full winter experience. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. The Christmas décor was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic lodge setting with everything you need

Posted Dec 12, 2016
This is our second time staying at the Trapp Family Lodge and I wish we could go there more often! Every time we have stayed the staff have been more than accommodating, friendly, and have made our stay memorable. Everything you could ever want/need is in the lodge including activities, a spa, and a dining room with delicious food from their own farm. I would highly recommend taking advantage of any of their tours, most of which are led by Chris Poacher, one of the hardest working members of the lodge. He is engaging and knowledgeable about all things Von Trapp and the area. I honestly can't say enough about this place, it is enough to make me want to more to Stowe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

The Hills are Alive!

Posted Nov 25, 2016
If you love the Sound of Music story, you will love this resort! A lovely spot on a hill top, great views and ambiance. Not terribly elegant, but comfy, clean and passionate about their Bavarian hospitality. Lots to do, if you like the out doors, eating and drinking!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views, well kept rooms, professional service

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
We were staying in the area for only one night and were able to do a mix of hiking and sampling local beer (Alchemist, Trapp, Hill Farmstead.) The room we booked was well taken care of, had a porch area where we watched the sunset, and was near the hot tub that we visited under the stars. Great property and really nice people working there.