Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Beautiful surroundings, European feel

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Georgeous scenery, great food, great beer. No need to leave the resort, but if you want to go into Stowe for dinner, there are many great choices. Great hiking in the summer, many pools to meet everyone's needs. Beautiful flowers everywhere, many nooks to explore, the history of the hotel is fascinating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stowe, VT

Be very careful

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful place, very nice staff.
Cons: AIR CONDITIONING!
Location: Lovely place near lots of great antique and maple places.
What modern built (1985) resort doesn't have air conditioning! Its not cold enough in Vermont to do without it! There was trash still in one of the cans. Beautiful place, and the staff was very nice, but I will never stay there again. For the money I'll go to a more modern resort in Stowe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments you shared with others. While our hotel does have a few rooms that do not have air conditioning, most accommodations are equipped as well as common areas and restaurants in the Main Lodge. Our Housekeeping has received a report of the less than acceptable trash in the cans on arrival and we sincerely apologize for this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice hotel. Great views

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Great place to stay while touring the mountains of northern Vt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We really liked Stowe and the resort and ended up extending our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to our resort and happy to hear you stayed longer. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel with a LOT of charm.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Mountain views are spectacular. Staff very pleasant. Nice live piano music during dinner and evening. Common patios are nice. Only one complaint was that the shower had very little water pressure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful spot to relax.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Ambience, activities
Cons: Smooth path for a wheelchair near the cobblestone driveway
Location: Stowe very close, lots of activities around the hotel, very large pool at the fitness centre
Grounds were wonderful. Lots of activities for all ages. Carriage ride was perfect for my elderly in-laws who wouldn't have gotten to see as much of the property without it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Reservations Department, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge, please consider visiting again!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tempe, AZ

Had a great time here

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Location, ammeties, history, service & grounds around the hotel.
Cons: To stay longer, we just stayed two nights
Location: Town of Stowe is nearby & Ben & Jerrys ice cream factory is about 25 minutes away.
We stayed 2 nights & had a great time. The property is still owned by the Von Trapp family. We had all our meals at the hotel & had some excellent food. I had probably the best omelet I've every had & I'm always looking for the perfect omelet. They make Austrian lager type beers at their micro brewery just down the hill from the resort & they sell them in a bar/deli. They were excellent. We took the history & brewery tour for a nominal fee & met grandkids of Maria Von Trapp - one lead the brewery tour & another answered questions after the history tour. At night they had free s'mores ingredients and a fire outside. There were wonderful walking/biking trails, a nice pool/hot tub and beautiful views whatever you looked. The staff were friendly and customer service went beyond expectations. I left my phone charger and several cables in the room and they mailed them back and did not want me to pay anything for postage. The stamp showed the postage at $18.75
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Sad to say but going down

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The staff are nice and helpful. Pool and bike rental was breeze to use and grounds are impecably kept. The Bakery is great and the food nice.
Cons: Quality of the meals at the lodge for the price, it should definitly be better. Cleanliness of the rooms should be improved.
Location: Great place to do sports and easy access to it. Village nearby to get food and shop.
I use to love going there but I don't think it'll last. My room has not been cleaned properly, some soap was left on the ledge of the bath, bobbypins on the carpet, need I go on. For the price, it should be cleaner. The food was not very good either. At the bar, I had the winerschnitzel which arrived cold and was hard and the mushroom sauce was a congealed cold mass. It's not cheap and it was disgusting. My husband had the pastrami sandwich which was a mass of fat.
3 out of 5
by Robert from Boston

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The location, rooms, service and attitude were all great. The food was embarrassingly BAD. One of the worst dinners in the main dining room we have encountered in many years, and the waiter was not helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels