Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little bit of Austria, a lot of Vermont.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Always wanted to stay at the lodge. I am a huge fan of the movie. Our room on the 4th floor was unique and spacious but we missed having a mini fridge in the room. Carpet was less than perfect also. However, the experience of staying there was perfect. Buffet breakfast was worth the price; we ate dinner at the brewery 3 nights and loved it. The scenery and flowers were breathtaking. We took advantage of all the Stowe area and beyond had to offer: antique shops, gondola ride up the mountain, local general stores, cider making facility w/cider donuts. Watched the Maria story documentary, attended the sing along and saw the movie too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cloquet, MN

Beautiful lodge

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room.
Location: Arbortrek Zip Line was great at Smuggler's Notch. The Ben and Jerry's factory tour was lame, but the ice cream is delicious!
Beautiful lodge with great mountain views. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a newly remodeled king room. Great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Cons: wifi in my room wasn't working.
The place is beautiful, the staff are very helpful and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like being in Austria

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Gorgeous setting; delicious food; extremely friendly staff; variety of activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from v

Overrated, dated, needs overhaul. Very disappointe

Posted May 24, 2017
Huge disappointment, bed was nice , rooms need to be updated, no outlets next to bed , bathroom cheap with no water pressure, towels scratchy, food dry , services slow , no room service , no fridge or microwave in room , lobby old , carpet worn. Whole place needs a facelift. Again. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT
5 out of 5
by Jacalyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeremy

great time

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Great hotel and fantastic brewery too!!

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
My son and I were skiing at Stowe, we decided to stay local and an establishment that was above average, and we were very happy with our choice. The hotel was very nice, the ambiance of the surrounding, we even had dinner at the hotel and we were very pleased. A MUST; go their brewery too; second to none.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos, CA

Appropriately not too updated.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Activities for families, and the genuine smiles from the staff... even when the behavior of your child is not what is expected.
Cons: The drapes on our window did not shut completely, therefore allowing too much light into the room at too early of an hour. We clipped it shut.
Location: The Bierhall restaurant onsite is wonderful! Food is priced well, ambiance is great, and kids menu has a good variety. Stowe Mountain ski lessons.
We loved all the activities at the hotel, which included a rock climbing wall class, family movies, and a magic show! The style of the room is outdated, but I wouldn't have wanted it to be updated. It is about 34 years old at this point and has stencil trim painted on the walls and (in some places) carpet that is green with dots. Quaint comes to mind, which is what I expected. However, for some people the look may not match the price point that you are paying. For me it needed to be a hotel that doesn't just say that they are family friendly, but which truly caters to the entire family experience. In this respect the Trapp Lodge completely gets my highest rating and "Thank You!".
5 out of 5
by brian

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, friendly and attentive staff and plenty to do for the family in and around the lodge!