Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The Hills are Alive!

Posted Nov 25, 2016
If you love the Sound of Music story, you will love this resort! A lovely spot on a hill top, great views and ambiance. Not terribly elegant, but comfy, clean and passionate about their Bavarian hospitality. Lots to do, if you like the out doors, eating and drinking!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Enjoyed the trip. 3rd time visiting. Would like to see menu change from season to season. Also would like a deal for return customers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perfect spot for a get away

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: The views were awesome, hospitality 10 stars , architecture was delightful , it was quiet and overall a perfect retreat
Cons: the jets in the hot tub , and somehow less chlorine
Location: loved the fact it is off the main road, one could hear the wind, see the stars , not cars and enjoy the meadows and woods nearby
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful trip!!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Had a wonderful experience staying at the lodge. The only negative was that the lounge closed early - 9:00pm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Let it snow!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Our stay was too short...only one night. Valet service was great since we arrived in pouring hand the parking lot is across the street. The food was delicious and the room was good size but it didn't heat up to well since the temps were in the high thirties overnight. It snowed overnight so it made for a very pretty sight but to early of a start to the season for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Famous family lodge

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The family history
Cons: Inside decor and general upkeep
Location: Stowe is a great little, quaint town to explore and the setting is gorgeous.
Fun to learn all about the Trapp family history. The lodge is very dated. It needs an interior makeover.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester, CT

A weekend away with my wife without our children.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
A wonderful resort with plenty to do. Every employee was very helpful and courteous. Plus the million dollar view!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Rooms are dated. Definitely need a refresh. Bed was so-so for comfort, no light in shower. Had to climb stairs to get to room. Groundswere beautiful, scenery was spectacular. Our dinner was outstanding and the service very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granbury, Texas

The Lodge is beautiful, the views are spectacular!

Posted Sep 30, 2016
My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay at VTFL. So much so, we stayed an extra night. We have stayed in countless hotels, lodges, & B&B's. This is our favorite. There is so much to see and do. When you come, plan to stay at least 2 days and bring your hiking shoes. You won't want to miss all of the fun year round outdoor activities available or just enjoy some of the 2500 acres of woods, gardens, and farm animals. From tours of their working maple syrup operation, to meeting their menagerie of farm animals, food and flower gardens, to mountain biking & snow skiing. Bring your appetite because their restaurant doesn't let you go hungry. Many of their menu items are farm to table, raised by them and their knowlegeable team. The Von Trapp family knows how to host, and they do it well!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hills are Alive

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Truly a special place to visit. The whole experience woke me to the sound of joyful heartfelt music.