Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The most reliable snow for cross-country skiing in New England right outside the door. Good atmosphere. Pool. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic lodge setting with everything you need

Posted Dec 12, 2016
This is our second time staying at the Trapp Family Lodge and I wish we could go there more often! Every time we have stayed the staff have been more than accommodating, friendly, and have made our stay memorable. Everything you could ever want/need is in the lodge including activities, a spa, and a dining room with delicious food from their own farm. I would highly recommend taking advantage of any of their tours, most of which are led by Chris Poacher, one of the hardest working members of the lodge. He is engaging and knowledgeable about all things Von Trapp and the area. I honestly can't say enough about this place, it is enough to make me want to more to Stowe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

The Hills are Alive!

Posted Nov 25, 2016
If you love the Sound of Music story, you will love this resort! A lovely spot on a hill top, great views and ambiance. Not terribly elegant, but comfy, clean and passionate about their Bavarian hospitality. Lots to do, if you like the out doors, eating and drinking!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Enjoyed the trip. 3rd time visiting. Would like to see menu change from season to season. Also would like a deal for return customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect spot for a get away

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: The views were awesome, hospitality 10 stars , architecture was delightful , it was quiet and overall a perfect retreat
Cons: the jets in the hot tub , and somehow less chlorine
Location: loved the fact it is off the main road, one could hear the wind, see the stars , not cars and enjoy the meadows and woods nearby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful trip!!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Had a wonderful experience staying at the lodge. The only negative was that the lounge closed early - 9:00pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Let it snow!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Our stay was too short...only one night. Valet service was great since we arrived in pouring hand the parking lot is across the street. The food was delicious and the room was good size but it didn't heat up to well since the temps were in the high thirties overnight. It snowed overnight so it made for a very pretty sight but to early of a start to the season for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Famous family lodge

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The family history
Cons: Inside decor and general upkeep
Location: Stowe is a great little, quaint town to explore and the setting is gorgeous.
Fun to learn all about the Trapp family history. The lodge is very dated. It needs an interior makeover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, CT

A weekend away with my wife without our children.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
A wonderful resort with plenty to do. Every employee was very helpful and courteous. Plus the million dollar view!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Rooms are dated. Definitely need a refresh. Bed was so-so for comfort, no light in shower. Had to climb stairs to get to room. Groundswere beautiful, scenery was spectacular. Our dinner was outstanding and the service very good.