Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
We love making this a yearly tradition at the trapp family lodge!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice anniversary getaway

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: location in the mountains, and close enough to many things to do in the area
Cons: quality of the pillows (did not get a great night sleep any night)
Location: Green Goddess for Breakfast and Prohibition Pig for lunch. Plenty of Craft Beer options in the area too!
My wife and I went here for a weekend honeymoon, and it was a very nice decision. Plenty of isolation in the mountains, but still close enough to civilization as a tourist/skiing area. Couple minor inconveniences, but thats just what they were,,,minor. Would gladly recommend to anyone needing a good getaway weekend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Mass.

There for a wedding

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: The views and hospitality.
My wife and I had this resort on our bucket list for over a yr.before the wedding ,so what a better time for the wedding, we are thinking about doing it again sometime next yr.during the summer months.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff and beautiful location.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The view, the dining, the staff.
Cons: Include tours in the cost of the room, particularly the history tour.
Location: Lots to do in the area and at the lodge. You can go into Stowe for good food, cider and drinks, or just stay on the campus.
Just spent one night there but it was lovely all around. The weather was perfect, and all of the staff we met was incredibly friendly! We got to swim, use the tennis courts, take the history tour, mountain bike, hike, etc. All in 24 hours! I will definitely go back. Only bummer is that even though you pay a lot for the hotel room, they still charge extra for some of the tours and other activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

a must for all Sound of Music fans!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Location: near the cozy quaint town of stowe. Lots of antiquing!
This had been on my bucket list for a long time. The lodge was amazing. The mountain views, flower gardens, and the resident cows were a delight. The room was hugh and opened on to a veranda with great views. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. There were family pictures throughout the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The onsite restaurant at the lodge serves authentic Austrian cuisine. This was exactly the way it should have tasted and was comparable to the food I had in Austria last year. Many will say the prices were high but considering the atmosphere and the quality of the food I wont agree. our bill for 2 people (2 entrees, 2 non-alcoholic drinks with tip was $60) We went back later for dessert and coffee (with tip was $30) The only suggestion I would make would be to stay at least 2 days. The hotel has an itinerary of daily events. This includes buggy rides, tours of the lodge, grounds or brewery. They also show a movie called Marie at night and offer afternoon tea.
5 out of 5
by Sue

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the lodge. Its historic and centrally located. It was clean and the staff were great. Food and beer good too!
5 out of 5
by Neal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm with breathtaking views

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Everything was more than I expected.
Location: The town is low key and quaint. There is something for everyone
The Trapp Lodge was very inviting, low key and a very relaxing place to visit. The dining was excellent and offer multiple places to relax. The Trapp bierhall was family friendly and yet also trendy. The Austrian Tap & bakery offers outstanding mountain view and offered excellent bakery and snacks.
5 out of 5
by Cecelia

Very pleasant stay.

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
It was very pleasant. Staff was helpful and friendly .Location and scenery beautiful.