Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully restored historic house.

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly staff, open fire, sitting rooms to relax in and the beautiful gardens.
Location: Located on the west coast of Tasmania. You can enjoy the Gordon River Cruise and the Wilderness Railway.
Staff were very efficient and friendly, rooms were beautifully maintained. The open fire was very welcome at the end of a cold day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Old manor like in England

Posted May 25, 2017 on Wotif
A comfy real fireplace to have a drink with other guests. Looked like a place for a murder on a TV show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand building. Great value for money.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Wotif
Loved the ambience of the place. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barossa Valley region

Lovely grand old home with all the mod cons

Posted May 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The olde world charm
Cons: lighting & a well paved path to walk from the street parking up to the building.
Location: About a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive to the main town attractions in Strahan. The Gordon River cruise is wonderful and a must do experience.
A beautiful old home converted to provide comfy accommodation for many guests. The breakfast was ample and the inclusion of warm boiled eggs was much appreciated. Staff were helpful and friendly and amenities spotless. We stayed downstairs to the right of reception and found our room to be peaceful and very adequate for our two night stay. The only negative is the smallish car park up near the house, which fills quickly. The lighting and access to walk from the street side car park down below when it's dark, is not really adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballarat

Lovely historic hotel close to the water

Posted May 11, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The hotel was set in lovely gardens by the harbour
We spent a very pleasant night at Franklin Manor. The room was warm, the bed very comfy and the breakfast quite sufficient. We had a lovely meal at nearby Risby Cove which is in easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Modern comfort in period setting

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast and a beautiful restoration of a charming period building.
Location: Easy access to shops and facilities in Strahan. Take a walk to the adjacent park and walk the forest trail to the Hogarth Falls.
My wife and I spent the last night of our Tassie holiday at Franklin Manor and were not disappointed. The exquisitely restored Victorian residence provided modern comfort while retaining charm and period character. Our room was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed meeting and spending time with other guests around the log fire after a meal out. Staff were relaxed and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted May 7, 2017 on Wotif
Very clean and tidy property. Loved "The honestly bar"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It had a old elgangce and charm

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Wotif
It wasa great place to stay in that hotel with elegance and charm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Old hotel. Fairly comfortable.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Myself and other guests were surprised the hotel is unstaffed after 6pm. No dining room in the evening. Only hot food for breakfast were hard boiled eggs. This wasn't clear from the website. However various restaurants quite close by.
4 out of 5
by david

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels