Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Very old and dated

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The only thing we liked about this hotel is that there where three beds for a family of five.
Location: Nothing is within walking distance of Mackinac City.
This hotel is not within walking distance of town as others reported. It is very dated. Breakfast was slim to say the least. Staff did not present themselves well. I will never stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from il

Deceitful

Posted Aug 15, 2015
The hot tub doesn't work I found out after I checked in that's being like that for over a year. Even though the wed site says it has one. In reality it's being coveted up. Breakfast was terrible, 3 hot items gravy sauce, potatoes, sausage and other cold instante stuff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lieber ein anderes Hotel wählen

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Der Abreisetag
Zustand, Sauberkeit und Ordnung lassen sehr zu wünschen übrig. Wir haben hier so iele Mängel entdeckt, dass ich nur von diesem Hotel abraten kann!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Great for families

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The helpful staff. Also the little perks; such as grills, shuttle service, laundry room.
Cons: The beds; you could feel the springs just by touch of hand.
Location: Close to Mackinac City, Mackinac Island, and the Upper Penninsula
Our first impression was that this hotel was older and could be a huge disappointment. Boy was I wrong (well it is an older establishment but who cares). The front office staff was exceptional. They helped us several times with directions, discounts, ideas, & calling for shuttles to the Mackinac Island ferry. The breakfast is a great way to start your day. The lady running that show is friendly and very proud of the wonderful work she does. There is a large deck off the breakfast building; they provide gas grills and tables & chairs. We grilled hot dogs/hamburgers both nights. In fact, when I realized I didn't pack enough plastic silverware they happily got me more. The pool is huge, I mean HUGE. The temperature is just right. Lastly, our room was large. The beds weren't quite as comfy as your bed at home; but it got the job done. We had a room with three queen beds. You don't get that option very often! Overall, this was such a great place for my family of six. Thank you to everyone at America's Best Value Inn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice location

Posted Jul 10, 2015
it was a family trip to mackinac island and we were traveling with four dogs. these rooms are very spaceous with 3 queen beds and it is within walking distance to the ferry and downtown mackinaw city. they serve breakfest every morning and we even cooked out on their grills a couple nights and saved money as they have a patio area with grills. there is also a giant indoor pool that goes up to 8ft which the kids enjoyed while we cooked on the grills. they could stand to do some cosmedic stuff like paint here and their and replace some deck boads and 1 grill but it was an awesome price and location & we will stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

friendly staff and good service

Posted Jun 22, 2015
I stayed there just over a weekend. The staff are so friendly and resourceful. The room is ok but there is smell. Water in the bathroom drained so slow. I think overall it is good for the price and one night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riley, MI

Needs an upgrade!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: It was fairly quiet. Breakfast was okay.
Cons: Needs a total update. Very dated. Needs new mattress and CLEAN THE BATHTUB!
Location: Close to attractions. Close to restaurants.
The service was okay, but the room was very disappointing. First of all we requested a room with a king bed, and our room had a queen. It was late when we arrived, so we let that pass. The bathtub looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. We didn't even want to bathe in it. It was really disgusting. The mattress on the bed was very uncomfortable. Overall, I'd give this place a rating of 2. Would certainly not recommend to anyone; very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kipling from Winnipeg!

One of the best in Mackinaw City!

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
This was a wonderful hotel and I would highly recommend it. And it is pet-friendly! The breakfast buffet was excellent. Although this was a few blocks south of the tourist attractions and off the main road on Old Hwy 31, this afforded a better night's sleep, as there was not the constant noise from people, cars and headlights. Also it allowed for nice walks in the park just across the road!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elizabeth from Saginaw, Michigan

Only place we will stay

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Oh my gosh, my fiancé and I fell in love with it up there. Our hotel room was amazing and more than we expected. Quiet and pet friendly! The staff are very nice people and a joy to be around. Room was spotless and smelled so good. This is the ONLY hotel we will stay at up here. Thank you for giving us an amazing weekend getaway, see you soon!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor MI

Great place on a cold March night.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
With so few hotels open in the off season in Mackinaw City in the off season we were worried about what we would get. The place was more than we imagined it would be.