Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hudsonville mi

people there were very helpful

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: It was later in the year in Oct but it was very nice and beautiful colors' we were right by the city so it was nice
Our room was taken care of right after we left. everything was good needed alittle help on the tv and they were right there to fix it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

not satisfied this time

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: Room was in bad shape, smelt like mildew
Location: Good location to shopping area
We have stayed here a couple times needle and the rooms were fine. This room this time was in need of remodeling bad. Carpet was old, tub was gross and stained, smelled bad. Old tv that bothered my daughter's ears. Staff was friendly at least. But if it's a 50/50 chance to get a decent room I will just go somewhere else. :(
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The pool!!!!! And the continental breakfast.
The bathroom is private which is nice but too small to change in. The sink area should have a privacy door or curtain. Needed more blankets on the beds!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saginaw, mi

Cheap room

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Rude front desk staff, worst bed I've ever slept on, dirty towels, dog hair ALL OVER our room, horribly dirty bathtub... We just needed a place to crash for the night but next time I'll spend the extra money to stay somewhere cleaner. We've stayed in several hotels in Mackinaw City over the years and this, by far, has been the worst.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of repair

Posted Oct 4, 2016
This is a older hotel that is in need of an overhaul. The tv was old model that was without a picture, the carpet was badly stained, the chair was broken and the mattress was lumpy. No wonder the cheap price. The staff was friendly and caring.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room and close to bridge

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Breakfast was awful. One morning while eating breakfast some housekeepers were there talking about how many rooms they had to clean and reading off the room #'s. It was extremely unprofessional. Then when we walked out to go back to our room all the housekeepers were standing outside talking about how much work they had to do. I worked as a housekeeper at the Mariot years ago..and I would have been in a heap of trouble if I ever did anything like that. Also our toilet kept clogging. Beds were uncomfortable. But hotel staff (not the housekeepers) were kind and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

You get you what you pay for.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
This wasn't a bad stay at all; for the price we got what we paid for. The room was spacious, clean, enormous walk in closet, however dated. The bed had a giant dip in the center and had the old school 1970's stripes-no mattress pad. Staff was wonderful; no complaints there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointed

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: It's location--very close to the shops and restaurants.
Cons: Cleanliness of the entire hotel.
For the high price, this hotel was very disappointing. For the price, you would think you would have a top of the line hotel. We had ants all over our sink area. We told the housekeeper and she said she'd tell the manager. Nothing was done, My sister's room had something in one of the beds on the sheets. She said it looked like mouse/rat droppings. The "free continental breakfast" was anything but pleasant.My sister sampled some of the food and she ended up throwing it away. The older man in the kitchen was coughing and not covering his mouth. Needless to say, I never attempted to eat anything on the free breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Todd

Going back in time with tube tv.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Its ok, easy access to ferry to Mackinac Island. Badly in need of new flat screens and mattresses, tv in room was a tube tv and the mattresses are springy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macomb, MI

Disappointing but worked

Posted Aug 25, 2016
The staff was friendly, the check-in (late arrival) was quick and easy. The room was set up well for what we needed, just a quick sleep before resuming travel. However, the room was in need of cleaning and maintenance - my wife turned the heater on briefly to take the chill out of a damp night, it smelled so bad instantly like burned hair and we noticed that the grill/grate on the interior side of the unit was absolutely filthy and covered with a blanket of dust. The toilet was not cleaned to a level one would expect. The tub/shower appeared stained, thankfully we did not need to use it. The beds were hard, there was no closet space, no extra blankets even though our room had 3 beds. The breakfast room appeared nice and the coffee was good, however I noticed upon exiting that the inside of the door to leave was filthy from dirty hands pushing it - can't believe that someone wouldn't think to SCRUB AND SANITIZE that! Even if this were a $50/night room, but it wasn't, I think these things are unacceptable no matter the price. Dated is one thing, dirty is completely different.