Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Very poorly surprised

Posted Jul 21, 2008
The hotel also houses a Senior Citizen Nursing Home. They have regular nurses, we saw 7 come in the am. The desk is also the main area for the residents to sit and visit. There was no mentioned of hotel section, only the rules and information for the senior center and we thought we were in the wrong place. The experience was disheartening for someone on vacation, but an excellent use of a property to extend their use. The residents were intermix on the floor we were on as well as their associate smells of a nursing home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fountain Michigan

Good for the price

Posted Jun 19, 2008
Close to the fairy boats and restaraunts.
2 out of 5
by Lawrence from Southfield, MI

Not all impressed

Posted Oct 27, 2007
I got the wrong room first of all. After a few hours I decided to confront them and it got changed. Staff was on computer or no where to be found. Atmosphere was dark and dreary.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockford, Ill

a cheap welfare hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2007
We appeared to be the only guest on the floor we were placed on. The only other people we saw appeared to be welfare recipents who were living there. The beds were like sleeping on the floor and the pillows were almost as bad. There was very poor TV reception. There wasn't even a coffee maker downstairs so you could have a cup of coffee when you wake up.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Haven, MI

Don't bother

Posted Sep 5, 2007
Hotel was old, rundown, and dirty. The beds were rock hard, the sheets paper thin and it smelled musty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roseville, MI

Would never go back

Posted Sep 5, 2007
The hotel room was not cleaned from the prior people who stayed there in the room. Your feet stuck to the carpet. The bathrrom was disgusting with urine from the previous people. The other human fluids in the room were enough to cut our trip short.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Traverse City MI

Think twice about this one.

Posted Sep 5, 2007
This hotel has nonsmoking rooms that smell of urine and the bedspread was soiled. The hallways have a strange odor also. I was told refrigerator were available for the rooms, not so. Our room cards were blocked on our check out day so after breakfast we could not get into our room. I will not stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Traverse City, MI

new location, making improvements, convenient location

Posted Aug 16, 2007
The Cedarbrook has moved into a former Ramada Inn so the current Expedia map location needs updating. It's just off the US 23 exit off of I75. Room was fine, they are upgrading some guest ammenties, people were using the pool. Big Boy adjoins the parking lot so breakfast was fast and easy. We would stay there again for the price and location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Troy, MI

Will avoid unless cost is the main issue

Posted Aug 4, 2007
We went for a trip to the Mackinac island. Hotel staff was friendly. We were given the key to the room but once we opened it, it was obvious someone was still living in the room...bicycles were still parked inside. We then went back and got a second room. This room was empty but the bed wasn't done though the sheets were clean. Some towels were clearly used, soap bar was open and in use. Being tired, we decided not to complain and just stick it out for the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, WI

Was ok

Posted Aug 1, 2007
While this hotel was convenient, the clerks were to busy sitting outside to answer the phones. The beds were not very comfortable and had no headboards. Had the windows open in the pool area with no screens on them. Little children could have fallen off the roof if they would have gotten out the window.