Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

In the middle of the action

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Hotel is next to the ferry boats that take you to Mackinack Island, which is a plus. Indoor pool was good and having access to the beach was a bonus. You can walk to restaurants and other places. Easy ride to the U.P. and other area attractions. Hotel is in good, not great, shape.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN

Hotel is close to the beach-bird droppings

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location on lake.
Cons: Cleanliness, new beds.
Location: Great restaurants, shops, sights!
We were able to check in an hour early; very nice. Room not 100% clean, bird droppings on our balcony chairs, beds were so-so. When we go back I would try a different hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland, Michigan

Advertisement is better than the real thing.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This hotel was the ideal location, right next to the ferry and right on the beach. However, the beach was a little dirty and most of the lounge chairs were broken. The staff was not that friendly and they kept giving me different amounts when checking in. I was afraid I was going to get charged twice but it was okay when I checked my bank. The room was a little small and outdated but it was a beautiful view. The pool area was pretty small, much smaller than the pictures. The breakfast was pretty large but not that good. Overall, it was a wonderful trip but i don't think I would go back to this hotel in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Room service was bad. No one cleaned the room upon our request and when I went to complain, they said that room service girl marked it as "cleaned" and Manager said she will call her back but she didn't come. I requested to at least take garbage out and she said she is sending someone but no one came. She wasn't friendly. I will never go back there. We found bug crowling in the ice tray.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Wish we could have stayed longer!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: beach, comfort, location in a quaint town. Loved it all.
Cons: Breakfast.(from a foodie point of view) And, buffet needs real cream, not creamer. Yuck. Starbucks is down the street--walking distance.
Location: The International Dark Sky Park is an opportunity to see stars like never before. 5 minutes away. Make sure you get a pasty from across the street.
From a west coast family...this is an excellent location on the water. Great bargain.
4 out of 5
by Amy Michelle

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great value! We were very impressed. We would stay here again next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Good hotel on the beach

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: RIGHT ON THE BEACH!!
Cons: Buy bedding in the right sizes; flip and turn the mattresses from time to time; update furnishings.
Location: RIGHT ON THE BEACH!! Next to where you catch the boat to the island. Within walking distance to downtown attractions.
I booked the standard queen room from my phone about two hours before arriving, At check-in, I was told that they didn't have a standard queen available and that there would be a $20 up-charge for the king suite and acted like she was doing me some kind of favor. She even said "I'm only doing this because it's late." It was late and I was tired so I paid it. The furnishings were a little dated and worn but everything was clean and it was quiet. The room I paid $20 extra for was literally right on the beach which took the sting out of having to pay a little more. The bed was a little less than comfortable--it was lumpy and took awhile to find a spot that fit. Then there was something funny about the covers--I couldn't seem to pull them up far enough and felt like I'd been short-sheeted at band camp. After trying unsuccessfully to wrestle them up to at least my shoulders, I decided to remake the bed myself and discovered that they were using queen bedding on a king mattress and had the top sheet and blanket turned sideways so that the length of the bedding would cover the width of the mattress but the width of the bedding would only reach to about two feet from the headboard. I turned the bedding the right way, which meant it just barely covered the top of the mattress and would have been a problem if two people were sharing the bed but I was traveling by myself so all was good. Re-found the comfy spot on the bed, pulled the covers to my chin, and then slept really well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zzz' after the Zoo

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Location and facilities were icing on the cake after a long, fun bike ride. I will certainly book here again for other up north visits.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riviera Beach

Spectacular view.

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: location. On the beach. right next to ferry.
Cons: update bedding. clean the whole floor not just around the bed.
Location: Great spot. Lots of shops and restaurants.
The place was right on the beach. Our room had a balcony directly over the beach. Room decor was dated. Heat/air conditioner on wall was extremely noisy. Cheetos under the bed!