Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff and view, breakfast very pleasing,

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: ? nothing
Location: good location, close to docks
Very nice stay including the weather and the time, had issue with billing they took care of ASAP, Expedia not a good deal at all, shower head leaked and it was reported and taken care ASAP, 10 minutes, pool,tub, view, room, breakfast, employees and cleanliness all great, of coarse remember not a lot of people were here. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This is a lovely facility close to the hub of activity in Mackinac City. Check was quick and easy; staff at the desk was polite, and breakfast staff was super friendly. The breakfast itself was disappointing for the poshness of the rest of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from farmington mi

Close to The beach and good breakfast.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The walls are so thin you get noises constantly. Doors slamming, childern screaming while running up and down the hallway. Hotel has barely information about mackinaw island and what they did have was incorrect. Always call businesses on the island or you will miss out. And check ferry time with thel ferry line it's self the hotels posted times are 30 mins off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marquette, Mi

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff was great, especially their help with my grandfathers birthday party.
Cons: Very big furniture in not so big rooms, made it really hard to get the trolley cart in and out of the room.
Location: Mackinaw Fudge, Dixie Saloon, Lighthouse, The Island, Site attractions, Mackinaw Crossing, St.Ignance , Mackinaw Bridge, Colonial Mackinaw & much more
I was very pleased with this hotel for the price that i paid. We took a family vacation and had my grandfathers 90th birthday party there in their beautiful breakfast room. I did not get to stay but a family member of mine stayed in the room that is located off the breakfast room and it is absolutely beautiful. I recommend if you can to try and get this room. The rooms were clean and beds were comfy. The hot tub was on the dirty side on Saturday but on Sunday morning before we left we did realize that they were draining it out and refilling. So it must have been time. Overall, nice hotel & great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mackinac City, MI

Nice Hotel, Has a Pool

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The hotel was nice and clean. There was a nice jucizi in the room and the pool was nice. There's a small gym and there's a hex in there if you want to tan.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Routine" room checks at 3:30am

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Nice View but that is the only thing I liked.
Cons: The staff could be professional, dress properly, identify themselves as staff, and try to actually help their customers.
Location: The beach view was nice, the town is full of activities and the bridge is amazing. Stay at a different hotel besides the Hamilton.
I would like to say that we enjoyed our experience at the Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront, but sadly we did not. The Hamilton Inn made us not want to come back. Upon having to leave early for other circumstances, we packed our bags and prepared to leave earlier than expected. After latching the door and making sure all was secured, we went to bed and then around 3:30am the door slammed open against the latch. My girlfriend and I sprung awake, tragically frightened my girlfriend got on her phone and I went and shut the door and locked it up again. Upon several attempts to reach the front desk with the hotel phone, there was no answer. Nervous due to the security breach, we packed up and ventured to the front desk. A man in a Detroit Lions T Shirt and sweatpants was sitting there. I told him someone had tried to get into my room and I wanted an explanation and to speak with a manager right away. He said that no one was available and that my room was listed as vacant and that he himself was performing a "routine room check." There was nothing routine about barging into an occupied room at 3:30 in the morning. I asked again for answers and a manager and he was unable to help, instead he gave me a card to call corporate about the matter. If you want a surprise room visit at 3:30 in the morning this hotel is for you. I will tell everyone about our scary experience and highly deter anyone from staying at the Hamilton Inn. There are multiple other hotels to stay at in Mackinaw City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fenton, MI

Perfect location for your family visit "up north".

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location; pool; room; staff; parking
Cons: WiFi
Location: In northeast Michigan, this location is hard to beat. Couple hours drive of many of the popular locations. Good restaurants. Waterpark nearby.
Excellent location to go out from. So many wonderful places to visit within a couple hours. Nice pool and hot tub. Comfortable room. Friendly, helpful staff. Adequate parking. Plenty to do in town (some nice places are open even in the winter). The one gripe would be about the WiFi, which is sketchy. Other than that, my wife, kids, and I were quite happy and would definitely re-book.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A maze!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The staff when we checked in and checked out.
Cons: Signs says where the lobby is, pool, repair vending machines, etc. Get rid of the foreign speaking lady is really rude.
Location: Winter time skiing, gambling. Otherwise nothing in the winter.
Checked online for rates, wanted to know what the cost was for a king with a jacuzzi in the room,called the hotel; spoke with a foreign speaking lady. Asked about the rate was advised that if I had to asked then I could not afford it. Asked again, it took three times before she told the price with tax, as opposed to the online rate with two queens Booked online (stayed here as all the others were closed for the season I was told). We checked in nice staff. Got to the room, cold, okay. But then we found a white pill on the floor picked up put in toilet. Then found the trash had not even been picked up, the shampoo/conditioner combination was used the the paper lid thing still sitting on the side of tub. We did not tell the staff as my husband is not one to make waves. We wanted water was told to use the 2nd floor where the vending machines were working, well they weren't, there were two bottles of water stuck in the machine upside down, and now you have water all over the floor. We also found it to be a huge maze, no signs saying "Lobby this way", "Pool this way", or "Elevator this way", just signs saying which way the rooms were. Now for someone like ourselves who have never been to the hotel before, we were not given instructions about their maze, with the exception of where the breakfast room was on the 3rd floor. Would we stay here again a big fat NO, would recommend it NO. Note this hotel is sort of an L shape we finally noticed after one day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson, Mi

Nice hotel, poor customer service

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Called about a lost item took two days before able to reach someone and then they said item was not found in room. Hotelbitself was nice and accomadations satisfactory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Always open in the winter. Good price.
Cons: Different chairs. The chairs in our room were very uncomfortable.
Location: We go just to relax. The town is very quiet. Only a few restaurants and motels open this time of year.
Just go to relax and a weekend getaway. Usually go once a year.