Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel with Great Lake and Island view

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Nice facilities, helpful staff, clean room and great view of the lake and island. Very comfortable. A short drive to restaurants and shops in town. Breakfast just ok. Nothing my husband liked so we just went out for breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The staff wasn't nice and responsive. I requested a rollaway bed and called to confirm. However, when we got there they were not sure if they had it in the room or not. And it turn out that one of us had to sleep on the ground.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckskin, Maine

some good some some not so good

Posted Oct 2, 2016
expedia didn't forward the booking to the hotel thus having us wait for almost an hour to get a room that we had booked the manager said that this was usual for the expedia booking WHY???? doors slam and the card slot for the door doesn't work like it should had to figure a way to use the slot to get in the room hotel said this is usual for the doors WHY??? on the good side , breakfast is very good and plentiful located near the ferry docks with walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

View of the water

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Needed a room for the night and this hotel had one at a good price. Bonus views of sunrise over Mackinac.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crabby staff = Crabby guests

Posted Sep 8, 2016
The hotel staff started putting breakfast away early while there were still guests eating. No explanation to those there, just put things on the cart and put it away. Very noisy in the room as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beverly Hills, MI

In need of major cleaning

Posted Aug 4, 2016
I was immediately hit with a fishy smell upon entering the hotel. The carpets in the lobby were noticeably filthy. The pool was very dirty - the water was cloudy with hair and film, there were old ponytail holders left on the floor 10 minutes after check in. The hot tub had a disgusting filth-ring around it as well as chunky foam floating on top of the bubbles. I could not stand to be in the pool, nor could I let my three children swim in it for more than five minutes. The sink in the room did not drain and was clogged and disgusting. There was bird poop on the windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We enjoyed our stay! Staff was friendly & courteous.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to ferry traffic

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Close to ferry traffic
Cons: Try to match customers with rooms.
Location: Mackinac Island Resort
I'd have to rate this hotel 3 out of 5.I was dis-satisfied with our room. Being tall, they apparently felt I needed a handicap room. Mirror was too low, shower was open and improperly sloped to drain so we ended up using towels to prevent all the water from running under the curtain to into the room. As a result of the wet floors, the tiles were extremely treacherous to walk on. During the evening the wall outlet extension started buzzing while the refrigerator was plugged in, since we didnt care about the fridge I simply unplugged it. I have stayed at several HI Express hotels in the last couple of months and this was the most disappointing. At checkout, the hotel clerk never bothered to ask how our stay was. Had he asked, I would have provided him with more details than allowed here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Close to beach n walking distance to shopping. Very friendly ppl in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germantown Wi

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Location was best.
Cons: Just Lawn care.
Location: Many tourist Attractions. The Bridge, the Island. Tours/ Ferry's, and Plenty of Shopping and food Venders.
Nice Location. Beautiful View.. Every thing was Excellent ! The only suggestion I would offer, is, Lawn Maintenance, and Beach Care. Cleaning and Grooming is good Practice. Most Visitors, all though a Clean room Like to go outside and walk on the Beach. Or just sit outside and enjoy the view. I understand that you have many Seagulls , and Ducks, along with Geese. Even and occasional Coyote. I got to see one! Right on the Beach 100 ft away. That is Normal, and , That was Very pleasing to see. However, wild Critters, leave there Markings in the Lawn, and on the Beach. That will get tracked back into the Motel. That's a no, no. Just vacuuming will not get rid of that type of Debreu. Especially on the 1st floor. That of where we were. Walk out Patio is very NICE! Right to the Yard! and the Beach. Sweet!