Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Trip was for my parents and they loved it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from plano, tx

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Decor, complementary upscale breakfast, dinners
Cons: Elevator
Location: Perfect location on the island
Heavenly. Wonderful room, perfect bed, top of line towels and bedding
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield Michigan

The hotel was wonderful. We had no complaints

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location and the view from the room
Cons: The staff in the hotel were very good. Unfortunately we cannot say the same with the restaurant. We would not go there again
Location: Lots of activities to do on this beautiful Island
Just an all round pleasant stay. I would definitely go back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids.

Beautiful decor with views out of every window.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Very helpful reservation advice from Cindy and concierge help for sunset cruise, carriage ride and taxi services. The dinner was delicious and the waitress was very efficient. Loved every minute on the island.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from White Lake, MI

Excellent view and location

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is perfectly situated on the island for ease of access to, or retreat from, the main shopping area. The service was great, everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was a nice size, and clean, but keep in mind it's a historic age building and the room was a bit slanted, I mean the floor ran at a slight angle. The view was amazing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with a wonderful view

Posted Nov 2, 2014
This is a lovely Hotel with pleasant staff and wonderful amenities. Our room had a wonderful view, and was very clean, comfortable and quiet. I would highly recommend this Hotel to friends and family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Expensive and lacking facilities

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Pretty building
Cons: Bar fridge in room, Iron & board too, and also coffee making facilities.
Location: Very pretty location - walks & scenery
We chose this hotel expecting a premier experience but sadly not. The restaurant was closed as was the bar - no forewarning from the hotel or Expedia. Breakfast billed as Continental and included in the tariff, consisted of a glass of orange juice, a cup of coffee/tea, and a bun or a slice of cake. No toast, cereal, fruit or the like. The only thing "Continental" was that we were on the North American Continent. To eat this meagre fare, we were directed to the hotel foyer/reception area and had to perch on a chair - no table or comfort. In the absence of an operating bar, a bar fridge in the room would have been a reasonable option, as would coffee making facilities given there was no ability to have a coffee without resorting to room service. And after a time on the road an iron and board in the room is always appreciated to get rid of the wrinkles. None of these were on offer. Nowadays, these are reasonable expectations of an hotel room, especially one where the daily rate is so high. The hotel itself is very pretty in the heritage fashion, but this is not sufficient to make up for its inadequacies. It was late in the season we were told, hence the closed restaurant, but this is a poor excuse. If you are going to be open and take paying customers, then the facilities usually on offer should be maintained.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Our harbor view, from the third floor, was not the greatest. We saw the tops of the surrounding buildings. Otherwise, it was all wonderful! I would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
by Arthur from Bridgman, Mi.

Mackinac retreat

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
First rate hotel. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Valerie from The Greater Toronto Region

Victorian Charm R & R

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
Loved waking up to the sounds of horses hooves clip-clopping down the street! Just part of the ambiance of Mackinac Island. The hotel is located very close to the ferry service and I was concerned about noise but it wasn't an issue at all. The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. No complaints only accolades! The rooms are bright and cheerful. Close to everything. Gorgeous sunsets just steps away. The restaurant is exceptional. Would book there again with no second thoughts!