Ratings based on 590 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Traverse city

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
The location is great, close enough to the shopping but far enough to be quiet. The staff was outstanding and the restaurant was great. The room we had was very small and the floor was uneven. But we were told the larger rooms were booked and this was what was left so we gladly took it. This is a very old hotel and has some character. We are already planning next years trip (biking ahead to get the main floor king size rooms)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Macinac island

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Loved the look of the hotel. The room was cozy but charming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, friendly and convenient

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
very relaxing--loved sitting on front lawn and watch activity on lake and land. Perfect location for us, close to downtown but not in, so convenient. Downside was the room we stayed in is on the first floor so it always sounded like a elephants were running in room above ours whenever anyone moved upstairs. The ceiling is so high that the hotel should consider a drop ceiling and insulating for sound/soundproofing between first and second floors. But once upstairs neighbors settled in for the night (thank goodness not partiers), it was so quiet and peaceful. Slept great. Aside from that, we'd definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Central Penna.

Grand place showing wear

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Landscaping was beautiful, and the location
Cons: See our experiences
Our room was a bit disappointing, being the smallest room we have ever stayed in, noise from adjoining rooms was annoying. The restaurant food was quite good but expensive. The pre paid breakfast plan had limitations we weren't made aware of and it was nearly impossible to have breakfast without incurring additional charges.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gurnee, IL

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The room was very small for what I paid. One queen bed with 3 pillows. The bathroom door hit the bed when you opened it. The TV was tiny. Most of the staff was very nice except for a tall girl at the front desk. She seemed put out when ever she was at the desk. One day the island power went out. There was a loud generator out side of our window. I was surprised they didn't have emergeny lighting in the halls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very fun, very friendly hotel staff. We forgot our wine bottle opener and they gave us one to keep. Awesome!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nancy from Boulder City, NV

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel rooms were TINY and no drawers or any place to store your clothing. The walls were paper thin and noisy. However, the FOOD was fabulous!!! Stay elsewhere and eat at this Hotel. The location was, however, perfect. The island was beautiful and so was the outside of this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rodelio from Elgin

Best hotel in the island!!!

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Excelent place to sty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historical hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Loved it! The hotel was in a great location and nice to have the history!