Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from davenport ia

Close to shops & restaurants

Posted Oct 13, 2016
We loved Mackinac Island and want to return soon! During the fall was a perfect time to visit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

The hotel is a beautiful old hotel.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: We really liked the history of the hotel.
Cons: We did request a coffee machine in our room but it didn't show.
Location: The hotel is on a island where no vehicles are allowed. We toured the island by horse drawn carriage.
We enjoyed our stay at this old hotel and it was within walking distance of everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Booking errors

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We booked for four expedia paper work said 4 but hotel said two. Hotel said it would be fine however we were questioned when trying to use breakfast pass and they did come back and say it was fine again it was somewhat embarassing. Made it feel like it was doing us favor but in reality we had pd for it so I woulld have preferred for apology and admit error. We did up to grade our room for second night as the room was small for four adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by alan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Congers NY

Nice-Looking Hotel, but Disappointing Room

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
It appears that the rooms at this hotel vary a lot in quality. Our third-floor room (#322)was disappointing. It was small, but more importantly it was in serious need of refurbishment. The wallpaper was cheap motel grade, unworthy of a historic hotel--the second-floor room occupied by other family members had a more attractive decor. Our wallpaper was also becoming detached at various points. The front door knob and the shower control were loose. Several electrical outlets were also loose from wear, so that the plugs tended to fall out. The bottom sheet on the bed was nubby from age and wear. There was no place to hang hand towels near the sink, an inconvenience. (The sink was outside the bathroom.) On one day housekeeping took away the used hand towels but left only one fresh one. Most hotels provide four glasses in a room, two for bathroom use and two for refreshments. Island House provided only two glasses. The full breakfast (included in the base price of the room as booked on Hotels.com) was a major benefit. The food was very good, although service was a bit erratic--requests sometimes had to be made more than once. The dining room offered a beautiful lake view. Other common areas were nice, and the hotel looks very impressive from the outside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from carlsbad, california

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Lovely, quiet, away from the crowds. Comfy rooms, great food, warm and helpful staff loved the porch surround. Might be helpful to state that some rooms require stairs where your description stated elevator/lift. Also, your description stated full breakfast but hotel attempted to charge for anything extra than a described meal. They did accommodate us, however. Hope We can return some day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Lansing, Mi

Great Location and gorgeous flower gardens.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Island house is a Great location with beautiful views. Excellent breakfast. The lobby needs a little sprucing up.
5 out of 5
by Debbie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southwest Mich

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Everything was nice
Cons: Not a big deal, but some of the outdoor furniture could be replaced or fixed
Location: The location is perfect, on mainstreet and close to the downtown area. The horse drawn taxi comes right up to the hotel.
Everything was great, our room over looked Main Street and the harbor. The queen bed was very comfortable and the room, although not large was more than adequate. The hotel and grounds were very elegant, the landscaping, blossoming flowers and out door furniture made you feel like you were back in time when the rich and famous stayed at the hotel. The breakfast was as good as any restaurant you could go to on the island and was part of our overnight package. The hotel location was a very easy walk down main street from Sheplers landing, all in all, a very nice stay on Mackinaw Island, we were celebrating our 53rd Wedding anniversary.
5 out of 5
by martha from Linwood Mi

Great stop to next to everything !

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great time made better today! The new shirt for our granddaughter was acccidently left under tv stand,my wife called and manager went himself and found the shirt,today it arrived in mail! Awesome!
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels