Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from davenport ia

Close to shops & restaurants

Posted Oct 13, 2016
We loved Mackinac Island and want to return soon! During the fall was a perfect time to visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington

The hotel is a beautiful old hotel.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: We really liked the history of the hotel.
Cons: We did request a coffee machine in our room but it didn't show.
Location: The hotel is on a island where no vehicles are allowed. We toured the island by horse drawn carriage.
We enjoyed our stay at this old hotel and it was within walking distance of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Booking errors

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We booked for four expedia paper work said 4 but hotel said two. Hotel said it would be fine however we were questioned when trying to use breakfast pass and they did come back and say it was fine again it was somewhat embarassing. Made it feel like it was doing us favor but in reality we had pd for it so I woulld have preferred for apology and admit error. We did up to grade our room for second night as the room was small for four adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by alan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlsbad, california

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Lovely, quiet, away from the crowds. Comfy rooms, great food, warm and helpful staff loved the porch surround. Might be helpful to state that some rooms require stairs where your description stated elevator/lift. Also, your description stated full breakfast but hotel attempted to charge for anything extra than a described meal. They did accommodate us, however. Hope We can return some day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Lansing, Mi

Great Location and gorgeous flower gardens.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Island house is a Great location with beautiful views. Excellent breakfast. The lobby needs a little sprucing up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southwest Mich

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Everything was nice
Cons: Not a big deal, but some of the outdoor furniture could be replaced or fixed
Location: The location is perfect, on mainstreet and close to the downtown area. The horse drawn taxi comes right up to the hotel.
Everything was great, our room over looked Main Street and the harbor. The queen bed was very comfortable and the room, although not large was more than adequate. The hotel and grounds were very elegant, the landscaping, blossoming flowers and out door furniture made you feel like you were back in time when the rich and famous stayed at the hotel. The breakfast was as good as any restaurant you could go to on the island and was part of our overnight package. The hotel location was a very easy walk down main street from Sheplers landing, all in all, a very nice stay on Mackinaw Island, we were celebrating our 53rd Wedding anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Had a wonderful experience.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We loved how the Island House was located on the harbor and was away from the congested downtown area. Our stay was fun. We loved biking every day and checking out the local bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, Michigan

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Great classic old hotel. Great views sitting on the big porch looking out over the harbour and the sailboats.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2016 by Alan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waitstaff and food very good. Excellent location.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Rooms too small- was that a double bed or queen? Staff friendly and helpful. Food very good at both venues. Location couldn't be better!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by alan, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this place

Posted Nov 19, 2015
i plan to stay at island house every time i go to mackinac. it has character, good food, and the best location. Super relaxing, spacious yard, but near enuf to the action.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by alan, Hotel Management
thank you for your review