Ratings based on 628 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from davenport ia

Close to shops & restaurants

Posted Oct 13, 2016
We loved Mackinac Island and want to return soon! During the fall was a perfect time to visit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wonderful historic hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
excellent location on the edge of the village
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington

The hotel is a beautiful old hotel.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: We really liked the history of the hotel.
Cons: We did request a coffee machine in our room but it didn't show.
Location: The hotel is on a island where no vehicles are allowed. We toured the island by horse drawn carriage.
We enjoyed our stay at this old hotel and it was within walking distance of everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very quaint and well cared for. We were disappointed with the amenities, as paying full price for our stay, the Ice House was closed and limited hours for the bar so we could have a drink and relax outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Booking errors

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We booked for four expedia paper work said 4 but hotel said two. Hotel said it would be fine however we were questioned when trying to use breakfast pass and they did come back and say it was fine again it was somewhat embarassing. Made it feel like it was doing us favor but in reality we had pd for it so I woulld have preferred for apology and admit error. We did up to grade our room for second night as the room was small for four adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by alan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Service and beautiful view

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
I would have to say. The day manager was very pleasant. I watched him handle guest complaints one day. I felt the guest was out of line personally, however, he stood there and listened and apologized. He was just amazing. From my understanding, he was the front counter/check-in manager or person, he went back into a office right along side to check in with Hotel Manager or General Manager when handling guest concern. He was calm and I was just amazed. Like I said, the hotel guest was out of line but he handled the situation. He deserves a big raise. I General Manager should of came out to handle the guest complaint. Other than that, the hotel was nice and the staff was very nice and friendly. They welcomed you every day and they appreciated you for being there. Outstanding service. Beautiful View...Loved it. This was a trip for my mothers 75th birthday. She had a wonderful trip. We are planning to come back next year. Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Commerce Township, Michigan

Labor Day Week end

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
I think this is the best Hotel on Mackinaw Island for the price. Rooms are nice with A/C. Ease of check in. Great breakfast in the dinning room. Close to the fort and the downtown shopping and area. Great view of the marina from the front porch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Magic Island

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
We were visiting for a girls race weekend. The Island is magic and the Island house is the perfect way to enjoy it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Congers NY

Nice-Looking Hotel, but Disappointing Room

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
It appears that the rooms at this hotel vary a lot in quality. Our third-floor room (#322)was disappointing. It was small, but more importantly it was in serious need of refurbishment. The wallpaper was cheap motel grade, unworthy of a historic hotel--the second-floor room occupied by other family members had a more attractive decor. Our wallpaper was also becoming detached at various points. The front door knob and the shower control were loose. Several electrical outlets were also loose from wear, so that the plugs tended to fall out. The bottom sheet on the bed was nubby from age and wear. There was no place to hang hand towels near the sink, an inconvenience. (The sink was outside the bathroom.) On one day housekeeping took away the used hand towels but left only one fresh one. Most hotels provide four glasses in a room, two for bathroom use and two for refreshments. Island House provided only two glasses. The full breakfast (included in the base price of the room as booked on Hotels.com) was a major benefit. The food was very good, although service was a bit erratic--requests sometimes had to be made more than once. The dining room offered a beautiful lake view. Other common areas were nice, and the hotel looks very impressive from the outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlsbad, california

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Lovely, quiet, away from the crowds. Comfy rooms, great food, warm and helpful staff loved the porch surround. Might be helpful to state that some rooms require stairs where your description stated elevator/lift. Also, your description stated full breakfast but hotel attempted to charge for anything extra than a described meal. They did accommodate us, however. Hope We can return some day.