Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fine if it isn't raining!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were pleasant.
Cons: There was a long walk from the rooms we had to the dining facility for breakfast.
Location: It required a "taxi" to get to town and the taxis were not running because of the rain, wind, and hail. They started up again after the storm.
The room temperature was very comfortable. The only problem was that it was raining heavily and we had not brought an umbrella. The walk from the room to the dining facility was done between showers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
We love this place. It nice and clean. It's very pet friendly. Staff is very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Really nice!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: We were close to the shore, the harbor, 10 minutes to down town, the tours were nice very informative. There is plenty of restaurants and shops.
It was a really cool place to stay! The Family Suite was nice our sons had their own room. We were on the edge of town, close to the beach so it was quite. The staff at the hotel was very nice and helpful. Its a laid back, slow pace place. The restaurants at the hotel were nice and the food was fresh and good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albion MI

Nice chic hotel on the water

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The hotel was very nice! PLENTY of lounge space even. Small library! The room was very clean and comfortable with many updates. It was much smaller than I anticipated BUT the antique charm made up for that! It's about a mile from the ferry/downtown but with all There is to do & see on the way not a bad walk at all! We definitely plan to return!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive

Posted Oct 10, 2016
The price is near the 5 star hotel range, but room is like 3 stars
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth this price

Posted Oct 10, 2016
The price is really high, but the equipment is not satisfied
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Well-maintained, quiet, unobstrusive clean-up, etc. Excellent service in the outdoor dining room upstairs, and on the lake lawn.
Cons: The first Mission Resort trolley shoiuld be available earlier than 9:30AM.
Location: Fine
Very nice property; attentive & helpful staff (dining, security, cafe, shop). Front Desk staff seemed reluctant to offer or provide a detailed billing/service summary for my accommodations. In fact, they pointedly neglected to call attention to a receipt being available. Twice. Hmm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Staff was very congenial. Very clean rooms. Only thing I would change is a more personable bar staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guttenberg Ia

Nice old style hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: It is a very beautiful building with beautiful grounds, Also, I have a little electric wheel chair which I could use there in most places. Boxwood
Cons: I would like to see snack and soda machines available, as that would be much handier.
Location: Bike trail nearby, down town 10 minute walk, Grand Hotel 25 minute walk. Lots of chairs on the lawn to view the lake.
Beautiful hotel. But the age shows in that the rooms have stand-alone A/C units..ours was very noisy. Also, no pop or snack vending machines, so if you want something like that you have to go to the basement shop which sells such things. But overall it is a very impressive place. We really enjoyed the Boxwood restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saginaw MI

Bring your bike if you want to go to town at all

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: The good part of the tiny room was the windows were easy to open and being close to the bed the fresh air was very nice at night.
Cons: The air conditioning was a free-standing unit that was horribly noisy and we were glad we didn't have to use it.
Location: It would have been nice to be out there during the peak tourist season as it would have been quieter than downtown and easy to use bikes.
We have stayed on the island many times and this was the first time at Mission Point Resort. I thought it was inconvenient and expensive to use the hotel shuttle to make the trip into town, 5.00 per person EACH WAY and only runs every hour after Labor Day. Yes, it's only a 20 min walk to the edge of town but if it's raining and cold like when we were there, or you want to dress for dinner in the evening you may not want to walk. We did not bring our bikes, as we were only staying two days and didn't think we would use them. BIG MISTAKE! We found we were constantly waiting for the shuttle or trying to call a cab. Also, we booked the least expensive room and it was about the same size as a cruise ship cabin, and the bathroom was so tiny it was ridiculous. Just a sink with a small shelf over it, no vanity, so trying to use toiletries or do your hair was frustrating as things fell into the sink because there was no place to put them.