Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016
It was a joy to stay here! Breathtaking beauty in the grounds and natural surroundings- great place to stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel with beautiful lobby.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Long walk from town in the rain. Smallest bathroom I've EVER had in a hotel. Staff was great. Bed was great. Did I mention I bumped my head on the sink when I sat on the toilet....yep, that small.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southeast Michigan

Great hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The hotel is very nice. The dining room is charming. We had the buffet breakfast which was very good - omelette station, pastries, fresh fruit. The pool is somewhat small but very clean. We had a family suite - like most hotels near downtown, the rooms are small but this was very nicely appointed and clean. Great location- just a short bike ride from downtown and an amazing view of the water. There's an arcade and bike rentals on the property. There's a quaint, all-grass putt putt coarse as well (tip: they'll give you glow-in-the-dark balls at dusk - the kids loved it). There was also an outdoor movie on the front lawn. Very fun.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Mediocre Over priced hotel, with outdated rooms.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing. We stayed here because it was the only room we could find on the island. Dogs are allowed...we know because we heard several whining.
Cons: A bottle of water would have been nice ....29 cents. Update pool house, update rooms, somehow make customers feel good about staying at your hotel.
Location: Stay in either Mackinaw City or St. Ignace, bring your own bike with you on the ferry, head into the State Park and stay away from the downtown.
Our room was clean and simple but very outdated; think Motel 6. For the hundreds of dollars spent on the room,I expected at least a free bottle of water and a chocolate on my pillow, but be prepared, there is nothing free at this hotel, except use of the outdoor pool and outdoor chairs. We were told that we could use the facilities during the day of our checkout (11 AM) so I planned on having a swim in the pool after a walk. I noted from afar that they had a pool house so I felt comfortable keeping just my swimsuit with me while my luggage was transported to the dock. I should have looked closer. The pool house was reminiscent of a summer camp bathroom, complete with one outdated shower with no curtain, and 1 enclosed toilet stall with no hooks. Changing in the grossness of the toilet stall with no hooks and totally wet floor was a challenge to say the least. I expect that an establishment calling itself a resort would have a clean updated change room at its outdoor pool, especially at such a rambling facility where you are a good five minutes walk from your room. They did have pool towels for which I was grateful. The service staff was pleasant, the desk staff professional, the concierge woman, somewhat brusque, not very helpful. All services provided at spa are overpriced, restaurants and bars are also pricey. You are better served walking back into the downtown area for dining and drinks. Bike rentals and transportation from the dock to the hotel are for a fee rentals.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

A Resort with more potential than what they offer

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The staff was great.
Cons: The smell in the hallway of our building was bad. They could have provided better signage
The staff was great, from front desk to bell hops. Room looked like a converted dorm room, dark and dank with window A/C. Small rooms. For the price we should have stayed on mainland and commuted. A lot of walking between room and main building. Pool was extremely small. The hotel shuttle to downtown even cost each person $5 (really!!)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Conneticut

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
They checked us in early when we arrived significantly before 4pm, the room was great, the experience on the island was amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, Alaska

Awesome experience

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Absolutely everything.
Next time we come we will be staying longer than just two days and one night. There just wasn't enough time to do all the things that we wanted to do. What a wonderful experience and a wonderful place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice resort with great amenities.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
We have seen the resort whenever we have been on the island-but we never have stayed before. It is much larger than we thought, with nice staff. Our room was spacious for our family and had air conditioning- the gathering areas/lobbies did not.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Charming hotel, gorgeous property

Posted Aug 11, 2016
This is an old hotel so you are going to find old hotel issues. The walls are thin, but the noisy portable room A/C downs out the neighbor and hallway noises for the most part. The casual restaurants (did not try Chianti) were all decent, and the waitstaff was great. The location is the biggest plus in my opinion - a quick walk from the madness of the shopping district and the grounds are just breathtaking. My biggest complaint would be the cleanliness of the bathroom...mildew in the tub grout. Grossed me out for three days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Amenities and staff. So much to do on the resort with wonderful restaurants.
Cons: Update the rooms and AC system.
The staff are wonderful and so accommodating. The rooms are old, to be expected with only full-sized beds, and the AC units are not very effective. An equation that equals a poor nights sleep.