Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cindy

Well worth the great price.

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Orbitz
We booked this hotel because of the wonderful reviews on ***. For the low price it was a very nice hotel. The room was clean and there was a nice view of the water and bridge. We used the pool and hot tub every evening. However, our eyes burned in the hot tub because of what seemed like to much chlorine. This had never happened at other hotels before this trip. The continental breakfast was ok but there was no fruit or waffles the first morning. Note: there were a lot of kids in the pool the previous night so they may have depleted those foods. The other mornings everything was fine. I would definitely stay at this Super 8 again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kurt B.

family vacation

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Orbitz
Great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice quick breakfast. Room was clean. Did not use pool or hot tub was very warm in their. Just not my thing. Good value for the money and close to the ferry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crivitz, WI

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Clean, great water views if you get one.
Cons: Continental breakfast
Location: Handy location, good parking.
Let me start off by saying when we book a hotel my first requirement is that there is no number or the word "budget" in the name of the hotel. Super 8 obviously goes against that mantra but it rated really well and everything else didn't seem to rate very high. So I booked it going against my intuition and I was surprised when we opened our room. Large Jacuzzi tub and a view of the Mackinac Bridge. Beautiful large room, comfortable king sized bed. Upon check out I talked to the gal at the front desk and told her we booked on Expedia and she asked to see our rate. She said we had gotten an extremely good rate. Apparently the bridge view suites are expensive normally. Rooms 114 and 115 are the best view according to her. Overall clean, nice hotel. We skipped the continental breakfast, it just didn't seem like much. We had a GREAT breakfast down the road at Java Joe's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SCOTT W.

Great View

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Orbitz
We stayed for the week and enjoyed our stay. The view from our balcony of the Straights of Mackinaw were GREAT!! Will stay again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Very clean in the room

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Room was clean and smelled good with all the needed amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norton Shores, MI

Cheaper alternative than Mackinaw City

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness of staff, pool, view of Mackinac Bridge, view of Lake Michigan, view of golf course, private, great ac unit, location
Cons: I think breakfast should be served until at least 10 a.m. When I'm on vacation I sleep in later than I do at home. 9 a.m. is pretty early.
Location: Ferry to the island, mystery spot 5 miles away, deer farm nearby, downtown St. Ignace, minutes away from Mackinaw City.
I would definitely stay here again, although it isn't super convenient if you plan to spend a lot of time in Mackinaw City over the course of a few days because you pay $4 every time you go over the bridge. However, there are ferries that take you to the island multiple times a day, and we even got a free shuttle to take us there from our room and back to our room. The ferries aren't far away, it was just a convenient option. We had a view of the bridge, but we were on the end closest to the bridge, so the view was a little obstructed by trees. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. The hotel was booked at least two of the three nights we stayed and even though we could hear doors closing and were right next to the pool, I didn't have a problem at night with noise. I did, however, hear the guests above us walking around in the morning, not stomping, just creaky floors, problem was solved when our ac unit turned on and drowned out the noise. Breakfast in the morning was nothing fancy, I took it back to my room each morning as they only serve until 9 a.m., which I think is pretty early. No flavor creamer for the coffee, which I think these days is pretty standard. Ice machine worked great. Tv worked great, but not in HD (don't think I've ever been to a hotel with HDTV yet...) and the internet service was very reliable. I didn't bring my laptop, but I was on my iPhone for a few hours total on the trip and never had an issue. Overall, great hotel, would recommend and stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Love this hotel. Close to downtown, bridge, ferries, and attractions. Very clean with indoor swimming pool. Have stayed here a couple of times already. Cost is very reasonaable.
2 out of 5
by Hiker

Overpriced, not very welcoming

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Orbitz
I did not get a welcoming smile. The person at desk seemed put out to sign me in and answer my questions. Just not friendly, and when traveling alone that makes a difference. Breakfast just sugary stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great View looking at the bridge.

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: How clean and Modern it appeared. How quiet the room was. The staff was very courteous
Cons: Keep it up to the same standards.
Location: Sunset cruise was fantastic under the Bridge. Island is ok but it is Expensive. St Ignace was great had a pizza looking at the island
Had a great stay. Hotel was quiet for a weekend in July. Slept great. Room was clean and had a view of the bridge. Nice to be away from the rest of the other hotels that had a lot of kids running around. Everything shuts down in Mackinaw at 10:00 PM. We walked across to Mc D's to get a Snack they were open till Midnight. If I ever go to Mackinaw Again here is where I would stay. The staff was very Knowledgeable and saved us some money on the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Corey S.

U.P. Vacation

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel was clean and beautiful views of the bridge. We would stay here again