Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Elegant country estate

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Country manor style, the grounds, view from patio. Great breakfast
Cons: The old fashioned bathroom with tub/shower was okay, but they should figure out a way to have a soap dish by the tub.
Location: Really like the location outside of downtown Mackinac. You can bike easily into town or even walk, if you don't want to take the horse carriage
We stayed one evening at the Inn at Stonecliffe in September. The weather was unusually warm so we were able to sit out on the patio for drinks and dinner and enjoy the great view of Lake Huron and the bridge. It was quiet and relaxed....very enjoyable time. Dinner was good and the service friendly. Our room was large, clean and comfortable with a nice ambiance
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Gorgeous room on Mackinac Island

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The staff, the breakfast, the dining area, the grounds, the location.
Cons: Expedia charged us $150 more than the hotel managers presented to us!!!!!! The hotel itself was without comparison -- lovely!
Location: The location was secluded and beautiful, and all the island amenities were available to us.
We had a fabulous experience here! Everything was wonderful, except that our windows were open a crack (unbeknownst to us) and little fruit fly type bugs were flying in all night. The maid and manager were wonderful in taking care of the problem for us and they even compensated us for that minor problem. All else was flawless! The grounds were gorgeous; the staff was incredible, and the food was out of this world delicious!
4 out of 5
by Janet from Chicago

Run the island!

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous.. A walk from Main Street but if you are active you will love the scenery and location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Setting

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: The grounds and the overall setting.
Location: Bike riding and exploring. You will be 2 miles away from the downtown area, so be prepared to exercise or wait for a taxi.
For the price we paid, not sure why our toilet paper holder, didn't have a holder! The breakfast was arranged nicely and the dining room was very comfortable with a terrific view. But the food was very ordinary.
5 out of 5
by jeremy w from Rhode Island

A peaceful retreat

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
A bit older inn but grounds are very nice, room appropriate and roomy and breakfast excellent. A nice get-away from the downtown throngs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, ohio

Nice Inn two miles from town

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Quiet and scenic surroundings.
Cons: They should have more options for lunch or economical meals.
Location: Be ready to get your exercise. We walked and rode bikes all around. We walked up and down the downtown area as well.
We stayed three nights and ate in the restaurant on the first evening there. We found the accommodations fairly quiet and charming. The view from our balcony in the summerhouse was lovely. We walked to town and back for around two miles and found it very worth it. We were happy to be away from the loud night life downtown. The restaurant was very pricey and small portions with no salad or bread, but the brunch was nice but lukewarm.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Very unique experience from the horse-drawn taxis to and from the property, to the wonderful views. It took us back in time to hear the horses arriving early in the morning for deliveries and the much slower pace of living.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scenic & enchanting

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: It is kept up in the tradition of it's 1904 roots. Comfortable and hassle free.
Cons: Need to provide washcloths and hand towels.
Location: Fort Mackinac, golfing, bike riding, excellent places to eat, and a lot of historical places to visit.
Beautiful grounds with expansive view of Mackinac Bridge, Lake Michigan & Huron, a special get-a-way. Bikes are a must. Setting that is hard to beat. Very relaxing and quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Nice hotel. Scenic views. Very friendly and helpful staff. The only challenge....the hotel is a ways from downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ypsilanti, MI

Beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: The room, dining and the grounds.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is about two miles from town, nice to be away, but takes a little to get to town. Either a long walk, or 1/2 hour carriage ride.
We really enjoyed our stay at The Inn at Stonecliff. The highlight was the superb dinner we had in the dining room. There was outdoor seating which had a lovely view of the Mackinac bridge. The staff was warm and accommodating, and really added to our great experience. I would highly recommend this hotel.