Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Findlay, Ohio

The Inn on Stonecliffe is truly a hidden gem.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The Inn on Stonecliffe has it all. There are two different types of rooms offered. You can stay in the historical mansion that is beautifully preserved or you can stay in their cottage suites which offer more modern features like air conditioning, a patio/balcony, a small kitchenette and a hairdryer. The Inn has a pool and lots of outdoor space for yard games and relaxing. The Inn's restaurant is wonderful as well and there Is another fine restaurant within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel with Character

Posted Jul 15, 2016
We had never been to Mackinac Island and were looking for someplace special and away from the crowds downtown. The hotel is beautiful and the grounds spacious. Our room was in the newer Summer House and quite large. They even have two restaurants near. The staff are helpful and friendly. We ate a sumptuous breakfast and they have bicycles for rent. Ride around the island, take a carriage tour and try their fudge!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cleveland ohio

Far away / little to do

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Beautiful historic mansion far from town. No real amenities. Good food. Minimal accommodations.
4 out of 5
by Joe from Austin

Wonderful grounds, wish the service matched

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel and grounds are beautiful! We actually got engaged duringbour stay! There is a beautiful walk to a great lookout area. The room was much larger than we expected and very nuceky furnished with a great littke patio. It's a bit out of town but a nice carriage ride or walk back into town (the trip to the hotel is uphill so definitely take a carriage unless you're looking to burn some calories). Sadly,we were unimpressed by the hotel staff, I'm not sure that we got a single smile out of anyone during our stay. Which was a shame. Our bags were also sent to the wrong ferry port, which resulted in a drive across the bridge to retrieve them, an honest mistake I'm sure, but an inconvenience. We loved the facilities but the service was just lackluster. We will probably go back though.
4 out of 5
by Nancy

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
We had an initial issue with the room- the type of room we booked was not what they put us in. We immediately contacted the front desk. They were helpful and put us in a room more similar to what we booked. Overall our stay was great. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and the food was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Love the Stonecliffe!

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Love the ambiance!
Location: Mackinac Island is a treasure. Stonecliffe is within walking distance to the downtown area with stores and restaurants.
We found the Stonecliffe Hotel to be charming, welcoming, and beautifully located. The quiet, elegant surroundings suited us just perfectly. The staff was especially friendly and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was nice, and the fact that the dining room was open for lunch and dinner made mealtime very pleasant and convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice secluded hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Cons: Toss in some free bike rentals for the guests.
The hotel was great, very nice and well kept. The only downside is how far away it is from the main part of downtown. This means you have to pay for taxi service to get to and from the hotel. They have bikes at the hotel you can rent for an outrageous 7$ per hour...you would think being so far away they could throw in a free bike rental for the guests. It's the little things that can make a big difference. Even though the hotel was great, I probably won't stay here again simply because of the distance issue. I can pay the same for a nice hotel right in the middle of downtown and save a 25+ minute carriage ride whenever I need to go back to the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stonecliffe

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Quiet. We ate in the restaurant and it was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing views of the bridge and sunset!

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: The grounds and views were the best! Gorgeous hotel also!
Cons: The staff should tell you about the path in the woods.
Location: Quiet and isolated. Biking and buggy ride.
Such a beautiful place with the best views! More isolated area for a quiet and peaceful stay! About a 2 mile walk or buggy ride. There is a path in the woods to talk a short walk. If you go off to the left there is a pretty grotto. The path to the right is the cliff to see the sunset. Look into the water for a special surprise. The staff doesn't tell you about this path but if you ask they will explain where it is. I wish there was a sign.
5 out of 5
by Gregory

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful place to stay! I have never slept in such a large bedroom. Gorgeous view of the Mackinac Bridge.