Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Cons: $7 for shuttle way too high. Staff was nice but didn't communicate clearly.
Location: Quite a distance from main street. If the weather was warmer it would've been fine to bike ride or walk the two miles. Think $7 for shuttle was high.
Nice hotel, a distance from Main Street, had to take shuttle/taxi for everything. Room was spacious. Should have had an extra blanket.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely Inn

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful Inn right next to the back 9 of the Jewel Golf Course and The Woods. Good food and drinks. Hiking trails and an amazing view from the grounds. Bikes available for rent, just check the basket and bring a light if you plan to ride after dark. We went for a relaxing adult getaway and it was lovely. There was a wedding there, and this seems like a great place for a wedding. This Inn is not by downtown, but is a short carraige ride away. We like staying off the beaten path and this was perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms are really nice! Quality appointments and comfortable. The grounds are very lovely, although it seems to me that they could have paid a bit more attention to tidy up items (not an issue at all, just a suggestion for modest improvement). Very nice, friendly and accommodating staff!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Top quality accomodations

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The room.
Cons: The restaurant.
Location: Loads of things to do. Fun shopping, horse drawn carriage tours, history walkabouts, bike rides, FUDGE, etc.
The room was very comfortable and the decor was very good. The staff was very helpful, courteous and friendly. The only two drawbacks were the distance from the down town activities, and the evening meal at the restaurant. Horse drawn shuttle was only scheduled every two hours and taxis were never on time when called. The breakfast was very good, but the evening meals in the restaurant were pretentious, over priced, and laden with salt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Very nice and spacious rooms. I was only there for one night, but the staff was very helpful and professional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DON'T GO

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Shuttle service was bad and expensive. Taxi expensive. Would have had more fun sitting on my toilet flushing 20 dollar bills
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with gracious staff.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Hotel is set on a bluff that overlooks Lake Michigan. Expansive lawns and porches that beg for you to linger and enjoy the view. Peaceful and serene. Accessible by horse drawn carriage ride that sets the mood to help you slow down and relax. 30 minute carriage ride to downtown Mackinaw with quaint shops and restaurants. A perfect place for a getaway from busy everyday life.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great vacation destination. We enjoyed everything about our trip. The only issue was trying to get a taxi from downtown to the hotel. We had a wait for 1 hour to get one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grand rapids

Beautiful but lacking amenities

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Stonecliffe is beautiful, historical, extremely comfortable. Needs in room literature and a casual eatery on premise or nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Furthest hotel from the ferry docks. Worth it.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Beautiful building with an amazing view and a Scooby Doo mansion vibe. It makes one ponder the thought of what life would be like as a truly wealthy person or super villain. Very romantic for adults and very intriguing for children. Staff was amazing. Rooms were great. The hot breakfast did not serve bacon, but I survived. It is a very long uphill ride to the hotel. Even in a cab it takes 30 min to arrive. This is not the place for those in a hurry. This is the place for those who make time worth experiencing.