Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Austin

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Small hotel in a very small town. Nothing there apart from the scenery which was fantastic. Food was good and room clean & comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth

Lovely place

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet, secluded place, opposite beach, and close to other walks and beaches. Not for anybody expecting full town amenities, such as supermarkets and shops, though there is a convenience store across the road. I had the back cottage, so perhaps the best room, as it was very quiet. Nice bar with a real fire to spend a while, whilst the restaurant served very good food. Being February, the amenities were quiet, but it does get busy in the better months I am told. Breakfast was the full Scottish experience, and I had to ask for less on my plate the second morning, such was the array, and quantity of it all. I did not eat all day till the evening. Needless to say, everybody was friendly, and a good place to spend a couple of days. If out of the way, secluded and rural are your scene, then this is for you. Only complaint was the poor TV reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Spacious, comfortable room

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Space
Cons: The flush of the next room's toilet was very loud
We booked this to be near the ferry to Ireland for an early sailing and it was a very spacious and comfortable family room. My only slight quibble is that the address is listed as being in 'Sandhead, Stranraer'. Stranraer is about 5 miles from Lochryan Port, but the hotel is actually about 15 miles away. But I guess I should have checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Wonderful staff, close to beach, scrumptious food

Posted Nov 6, 2016
We had a most unexpectedly delightful time here. The inn is a family affair and we met almost everyone! Delicious food, very accommodating and generous staff. Woke up to a beautiful beach view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Nice little inn and friendly people.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Chris from Portsmouth

Tour of Scotland

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are very dated and need updating, bed small and uncomfortable. Room very noisy from other rooms and below. Food excellent and service excellent. Shame the rooms let it down
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Good country pub!

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable country pub hotel. Food excellent staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
by Greg from Manchester

Storm Frank

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Emergency stay due to Frank hitting Scotland very friendly and the food was first class and very reasonable. Only thing I found wrong £1.60 for a can of diet coke is taking the Michael !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dumfries

Exceptional Food - worth the stay

Posted Sep 22, 2015
The hotel is literally a stone's throw from miles of beautiful beaches, and close to several great gardens. Staff are really friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. The food was exceptional - cooked to perfection. The restaurant does get busy, so evening meal tables should be booked. Our room was small - but hey, we only wanted it to sleep in! Not a problem for us at all. However, be aware that room walls are very thin, and Room 1 backs directly onto the shower and loo of Room 2. A disturbed night, but not the hotel's fault. Take earplugs. We will definitely be going again.