Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location right in the heart of city square

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location, nicely decorated, comfortable room, friendly staff.
Cons: parking is so far away, had to have employee go with you, would be nice if they just parked car for you, could barely get in and out of the space
Location: right across from the cathedral in the city square so in heart of city and all shopping and restaurants right there
Very helpful accommodating staff. Great breakfast room overlooking the cathedral square.
5 out of 5
by Ivan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Excellent location! Modern inside

Posted Dec 23, 2016
This hotel is in 500 year old building right at the front of the huge cathedral. It is 7 stories tall but has a lift- but important- everyone has to climb one long flight of stairs up to the lift. We had the top top room in attic and it was big and so cute- -ancient original beams in ceiling, small windows overlooking front of hotel/street. It had 2. Double beds, one was up a tight spiral staircase to a super loft. This is a great room for the agile not for mobility impaired. Staff friendly and helpful., and spoke English too. Breakfast buffet-- is very nice, -all the cold meats and cheeses plus juice several sweet breads and rolls, cereals and Jogurts. -and fresh fruit. Plus hard boiled eggs. Coffee machine grinds and brews and you can have as much as you like!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well placed hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The Hotel Cathedrale is very well placed if you are visiting Strasbourg and want to be closed to the city centre, its tourism attractions, shops and restaurants. I was there on business and the hotel I normally stay in fully booked which is why I ended up in the slightly more expensive Hotel Cathedrale. It was excellent - modern amenities within a quirky ancient building. On my next visit to Strasbourg I will have a dilemma - will I go to my normal hotel near to the various European institutions or will I walk a bit further from the excellent Hotel Cathedrale? Probably the latter...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel with out-of-this-world location

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was good; a few of the employees had a rather "couldn't-care-less" air about them -- but it wasn't a deal breaker. I was also confused about how the heating worked, so I made rather a mess of it and overheated my room badly the first night. But the staff were very nice about fixing/explaining it to me the next AM.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right on Cathedral square.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a lovely hotel in an excellent position. The only drawback for these elderly visitors was needing to climb stairs to first level to take the elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Maryland

investigate the room assignments if possible

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Great staff. Continental Breakfast was very good.
Location: Location on the Cathedral Square can't be beat.
This was a nice hotel in an excellent location. Great staff. The problem we had was we were assigned room 38, which is actually 2 stories high. you go up one flight of steps after opening the door to the sitting room, a day bed and a bath. you go up a second flight of steps to the bedroom. In the summer it is very hot, and if you are older the stairs are impossible at night if you have to use the toilet. My wife slept downstairs and I slept upstairs. In spite of the upstairs location, there is no view from the room, so no saving grace there. Make sure you don't wind up in this room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great, central location! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location for sightseeing

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location, room size and general condition - it is a very good hotel in a prime location for historic Strasbourg. Very comfortable.
Cons: Making sure that a reservation for car parking is fulfilled.
Location: Perfect location - listen to the cathedral bells in the morning. You have everything close by for sight-seeing.
We chose this hotel for its location and were not disappointed with the great view over the Cathedral square. We booked two rooms for our family group and both were spacious and comfortable with room enough for a nice sofa in one of them, which was an unexpected surprise. We were arriving by car so knowing that parking could be an issue when staying for three days, I contacted the hotel in advance and reserved a parking space in their nearby secure underground car park. Unfortunately upon arrival the reservation had not been recorded on their system and I was left to find an alternative in another local public car park. Fortunately I managed to find a space, but this was not what I wanted upon arrival in an unfamiliar city. The hotel receptionist was apologetic once shown the written booking confirmation, but this was the only reason why the hotel doesn't get top marks. If arriving by car and wanting to use the hotel parking - double or triple check that the reservation is confirmed. Alternatively, Austerliz car park is a reasonable alternative nearby for the same or slightly cheaper cost if not parking for a full 24hrs, but you have to be fortunate to find a space if arriving at a busy time as it is unreserved parking...
1 out of 5
by DAVID from New York

Bad hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Tiny room, no window, no elevator below second floor