Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva, CH

Great location

Posted Dec 19, 2016
A nice hotel in a historical building very well located,right in the heart of Strasbourg's Christmas market,walking distance to all different Xmas markets. Very helpful staff members. Comfortable modern rooms with Nespresso coffee machine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: location, decoration
Great location, comfortable, nice deco, would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

the perfect weekend

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location, room comfort and design, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The bathroom in my room, sort of a "loft" in my room was quite warm and its configuration was fine for me, but might not be for others.
Location: Central to the Cathedral, Petit-France, shopping, so many restaurants, bike rentals are a must!
i picked Strasbourg for a weekend getaway. Traveling alone from Stuttgart, where I'm working for a few weeks, it was the prefect choice and the Gutenberg was a big part of that. The staff is friendky and helpful, and kinder than I expected with my attempts at French (their English is great). The location is ideal - I was able to walk everywhere and the staff provided excellent recommendations for making the most of my short visit. I LOVED my under-the-roof room - which had not been available when I made my reservation and they were able to accommodate when I checked it. I liked that it added to the uniqueness and comfort of my visit. Just perfect for a woman alone! I walked to the Cathedral de Notre Dame for an 11 pm showing of an outdoor light and music projection on the walls of the Cathedral, gathering with hundreds of others who enjoyed the stunning event, despite the rain. I sat under umbrellas at cafe on Gutenberg square afterward, enjoying coffee and dessert, watching the rain and enjoying the company of other customers until well after midnight and felt at ease walking back to my rooftop home afterward. The view of the lit cathedral and rooftops was unreal. Thank you so much - can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WDC

Boutique hotel at less-than-boutique prices

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: See above.
Stayed there two nights. Located on the city's "second" square. Within sound of the cathedral's bells and in sight of a children's carousel. What one imagines a French hotel to be like. No "breakfast included" but several patisseries nearby. Also good restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great Hotel in Center of Strasbourg

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Hotel was clean and very comfortable. Towel-warmer in bathroom was nice touch. Rooms were renovated and modern. Location was super-convenient (a block from Cathedral). Breakfast was decent, although coffee (from machine) was really bad! Other than that, I'd definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location on a quiet street

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: We stayed on the first floor and had double glass windows
Cons: The towels could be a little bigger to match the other amenities the hotel offers
We arrived half an hour before the check-in time and the staff gave us an upgrade to our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to christmas market

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: close to christmas market
Cons: more spacious rooms
nice place to visit and to shop during christmas, walking distance to main train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Choose your room type carefully.

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: Location, modern fittings.
Cons: Clearer warning of the effect of the sloping ceilings in the top floor rooms and the access corridor.
Location: Close to the cathedral and restaurants.
Great location, nice staff, and good buffet breakfast. The 'standard' rooms on the top floor are small with sloping ceilings so avoid if you're more than 5ft tall. This was a particular problem in room 506 where a 5' 9" (1.75m) male couldn't stand upright when using the toilet and shower! There was limited storage space, and no shelf in the toilet/shower for toothbrush, etc. The lift only goes to the 4th floor. We had 2 medium sized cases (we stayed at the end of a 2-week break) and no help was offered to get these up the final twisting staircase and along a corridor with protruding beams. The receptionist noted we had a 'special rate' - although it was booked over 3 months ahead - so that may be why we got a poor room. We'd only consider a 'Privilege' room if staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 9, 2015
The hotel was nice , close to lots of restaurants. staff were good also. the only thing I didn't like in this hotel that they refused to give me late checkout. I asked to checkout at 1pm which is only one hour late but they refused. I never had this problem in any hotel before , almost all hotels give at least one hour late checkout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Posted Jun 8, 2015
We have been staying at the Gutenberg for 30+ years. It has a super location, good staff, and comfortable rooms. What more do you need?