Ratings based on 649 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice for a weekend getaway

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Nice historic hotel. Close to attractions and easily accessible. The bathroom wasn’t as clean as it should be and the tub needed updating. The windows could use screens. Otherwise we had a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

nice Hotel close to most attractions

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Cons: better detailed cleaning.
enjoyed our stay. room could have been cleaned better. Dust on wainscotting top around room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Beautiful Quaint Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Lovely Hotel. Front desk staff was so nice and caring. We checked in late on a Sunday, so she gave us directions to what was still open for dinner. I would highly recommend this hotel and we are already thinking of going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grove City, OH

Historic Beauty

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The history, the room, the staff and the breakfast is amazing for being included in the price.
Cons: Bathroom could use some updating, but it was clean.
Location: Right in the middle of Amish country and the Strasburg train. Close to farms and antiques and great buffets.
The hotel was beautiful, historic and unique. Definitely not a cookie cutter room. Loved it and the staff. The breakfast is outstanding! Location is very convenient. Beautiful views of the countryside. Loved the deck and the big rockers to sit at night and enjoy the view. The big fireplace and chess set in the lobby are also a welcoming feature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connectict

Great location for touring, not such a clean room!

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Room filled with flies, safe didn't work, complained and never fixed.. Found a ton of garbage under the bed. The
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, MD

Filthy

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing, except maybe the location.
Cons: Everything! It should probably be torn down as I think it is to far gone to save.
Location: Location is good. Close to Lancaster.
Hotel was in very poor condition. In our room the first night we found a dirty pillow case on a chair, mold in the shower, hair on the bathroom floor and the carpet in the room looked as if it had not been vacuumed in ages. The heating/ac unit had so much dirt in it that it would not even work properly. I made the mistake of looking under the bed and wished I had never looked Yuck. The next morning while going downstairs to complain about the room, in the hallway was a pair of mens underwear laying in the middle of the hall, and I am not kidding. Thankfully we were able to find accommodations for the next 2 nights elsewhere. Someone said that in the newer part of the property is much better, but the building we stayed in was terrible. We heard many complaints from other guests in regards to the cleanliness as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fireside Tavern is excellent!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Older facility but clean with great restaurant next door
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staten island ny

Fine for a short weekend

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Everything was fine. Clean and comfortable. Has multiple buildings. Arrived after dark and had trouble seeing where room was. Need better lighting in parking areas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Small hotel with beautiful view

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Breakfast should contain more helalthy food
I had a great time in the hotel. They offer decent conditions for a very reasonable price. I have stayed in all kinds of hotels and can say that this is a great offer for the money asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Nice for a Stop-over

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, comfort, friendly staff.
Cons: I didn't particularly care for the beds being two steps away from the door.
Location: Facility sits back from the road with another hotel and a restaurant. Look to the right as you pull in the drive. Not a far drive to Amish shops.
We just needed a place to sleep, and it was good for that. Kind of strange to open the door right onto our beds, but the room was clean, and beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good.