Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Escape into the past

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Nice place ,authentic Victorian place, great food in a historic town at the entrance to Shenandoah valley
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

do not stay here!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I am requesting a full refund- and that says it all! Cold shower for my wife, noisy and uncomfortable bed, torn bed spread. I guess it beats camping but not by much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Midweek overnight stay

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Older property in the heart of town. Front desk was helpful. Room was clean and did the job for an overnight stay. We did not eat in the restaurant or bar. The continental breakfast is just that..English muffins,cake,fruit and cold cereal. If you are not a breakfast person it probably meets your needs. We found a place in town for a full breakfast...riding two hours on a motorcycle to our next stop warranted a little more than what the hotel offered. Pleasant experience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Mold covered shower curtain tops my list

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: The web version was nice but the real-life hotel was revolting.
Cons: Improvements should start with a major cleaning effort.
I made reservations for a room with two queen beds but the only accommodations available was one with one queen and two twin beds. The carpet was badly stained and filthy. In the bathroom, the shower curtain had an extensive amount of mold growing on it, the light fixture only had one working bulb and the wall-mounted blow drier did not work. The antique light was broken with the bulb laying at 90 degrees exposing wires.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
A step back in time. Not enough staff however and much maintenance needs to be completed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Historical B & B with nice bar and good restaurant

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Nice decor and setting; quiet town. Free parking and tub with hand held shower. Pleasant outdoor areas to sit and enjoy morning/breakfast
Cons: Registration clerk not friendly or personable
Location: Luray Caverns; wineries and distilleries
Did not find reservations so gave us last available room which was an upgrade. Enjoyed bar and restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson, GA

Cozy. A nice visit into past times

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Was a nice surprise for the price. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and continental breakfast. A walk into the past
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and peaceful getaway

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The room was comfortable and quiet. I thoroughly enjoyed the small town charm and historic setting. Dinner in the restaurant was tasty and service was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, WV

retro

Posted Sep 23, 2017
If you are looking for a trip back in time, this is your place. However if you are looking for normal amenities, probably not. No mini fridge, coffee maker, etc..., no flat screen HDTV. No elevator to get to second floor..Dissapointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Strasburg, VA

Don't stay in room 205!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
When I read reviews on this hotel before I reserved it, one of them described an unpleasant experience, and the hotel responded by saying "All our rooms are different ". Well, I can only hope so. The room I stayed in had an uncomfortable mattress, very thin pillows, the floor covering was very old, the room was old -and not in a quaint sort of way. The worst part was the bathroom. They must mop over top of what was left of the little rug, because pieces of the rubber backing were stuck to the rest of the floor all around it. There was mold on the bottom of the shower curtain liner, and the bottom of the curtain itself was stained from having soaked in rusty looking water. I couldn't bring myself to even get into the stall. The positives were that the washcloth and towel were clean and good quality, the meatloaf was good, and the staff were pleasant. Also, don't get the "gourmet lemon meringue pie"- it was just sad.