Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

Old Hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Update the place
Location: Good downtown area near everything
Old hotel that needs to be updated - very small rooms - very old furniture- leaky pipes
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PD

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 16, 2017
First of all, the heating system wasn't working so we had to change room. The other room was also cold. In both rooms, the water was orange :-(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's Not Much But...

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: I like it's old charm and it's honest facade. The location is excellent and is beyond fair compared to some nearby places. Give it a chance :)
Cons: Upgrade washroom, heighten showerhead, maybe add a blow drier & more hangers (we had two). It's understandably expensive to do so, therefore, no rush.
Location: Avon Theatre, City Hall, MacLeods Scottish Shop, Watson’s Chelsea Bazaar, Fanfare Books, Rocky Mountain Chocolate, Pazzo Taverna, Mercer Hall, Feature
The Albert is an old building. It's not fancy and doesn't make itself to be that way. It reminds me of some of the remote hotels in the Northern parts of Scotland. You get what you get and what you get isn't a lot. With that being said, it's a nice old hotel and everything works. You might not get all the fancy toiletries, blow drier or ironing combo but you get a comfortable bed, clean room and functioning bathroom. Yes, the bathroom might be small and old and the shower head is at face level if your 5'11" (neck level if you're 6 ft+) but there's good water pressure and it heats up quickly. Did I mention the location? Seriously, it's great! You're in walking distance to a lot of places to shop and dine and minutes away from the Avon Theatre. You could not ask for a better location for the price (we payed $113 w/ tax). If you want a place to lounge around and spend the day in ennui and tv shows then go somewhere else. If you want a place to crash after a long day/night of frivolous shopping, stuffing your face with local food and watching great theatre then this is the place. Don't expect much unless you're looking for a place to store your shopping bags and a good night's sleep. PS. Parking is around $10 w/ tax BUT if you park across the street in the municipal parking lot it's pay until 6pm (3hr parking max) and free for the rest of the evening until 9am the next day. If you park on the Saturday the Sunday is free... friendly tip by the nice woman at the desk ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ontario

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: stated above
Cons: bathrooms
Location: walking distance: to shops, to two of Stratford's 4 theatres, to a great pub
We like the price and location VERY MUCH. The bathrooms are generally too small to allow easy use. I'm tall and heavy. We are in the room only to sleep. No hassles, no fuss.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Rooms, hallways, etc.
The hotel is in desparate need of a renovation...it's looking tired, worn and torn. Friendly staff dealing with a facility that is well below par. It has good bones and could be a spectacular heritage hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible, Unprofessional Staff and A Musky Smell

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing. This place was a waste of money.
Cons: Staff members have no customer service skills, there is a heavy musky smell though out, the WiFi doesn't reach the rooms, and it's only basic cable.
What a nightmare! The staff at the front desk were VERY rude. At 9:30 AM on my second last morning, two members of the cleaning staff walked into my room, waking me in the bed. Without apology, they told me they thought the room was empty, then left me feeling annoyed & violated. When I mentioned it to the front desk staff, they just stared at me with a rude look on their face as if I was wasting their time. The internet only works in the lobby & the rooms smell awful. It's a great location, but there are many other hotels in the area with comparable prices and much more modern, cleaner rooms with better WiFi access & more cable channels -- and friendly, professional staff!! Do yourself a favour and stay in ANY OTHER HOTEL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southfield, MI

Review of stay at Albertson Hotel Stratford Canada

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location and friendly desk staff
Cons: Light bulbs were missing, scheer curtain could have been cleaner.
Location: As above, shopping, river walk, lovely restaurants, great shopping, safe environment in Stratford
Wonderful location within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, river and theater. I would go there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to theaters, shopping and restaurants.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Good location-near theaters, river (nice walking path on river,) restaurants, shopping within walking.
Cons: All the above!!!!
Location: Same as above.
Very old building. It was under reconstruction. No restaurant in building, no parking lot-meter parking across the street, (usually it was full so had to wait in the lot until someone left to park to park the car???) had to put money in the next morning by 9 o'clock or get a ticket, very, very small room. Pillows were lumpy, Hot water a problem in shower. No full length mirror but did have a small wall mirror in room. Mirror over sink in bath too high. I am short!!! No ice machine. As promised, someone brought ice to room for us while we were out. By the time we got back, the bucket of ice leaked all over the dresser. No one on staff in the evenings. We were given a key to the room and one to the front door so we could get in the building in the evening. When you closed the door after leaving the room, it didn't automatically lock. We were not told this before we left so our room door remained open while we were gone, The 2 people on the staff that we talked to were very pleasant but I had the sense that they didn't normally work the desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Simple, functional and friendly.
Location: Excellent central location to theatre and restaurants
Overnight stay and staff were most helpful and friendly. I had everything I needed. Nice and quiet, too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Our room was very clean but very dated. Only one outlet worked and we had to request an extension cord so that my wife could curl her hair in front of a mirror. The walls were not noise proof and conversations could b heard from other rooms.The staff was polite and helpful but some money should b invested in upgrading the room and washroom. We probably would not stay there again.