Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warwickshire

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
This is a wonderful place to stay.. staff are very welcoming and helpful. Food in restaurant was gorgeous.. The spa facilities were great.. This is a great place for a couple to go and spend time together in luxury..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wirrral

Beautiful peaceful setting

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Restful ambience
Location: Close to Stratford and convenient for the cotswolds
Restful and relaxing with excellent service and beautiful grounds
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herts

Disappointing

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Great setting and location, lovely building full of character. Nice room.
Cons: Staff attitude and restaurant service.
Location: Nice country location. 6 miles from Stratford upon Avon.
The rooms, location and general areas are all very nice. We had a couple of problems, firstly with the dinner booking. When we requested a table for 4 we were told that the earliest available was 9pm. When we arrived at 9pm we were told we had been booked for 8:40. The table was not ready and it seemed that the chef had finished cooking as the meals ranged from disappointing to quite bad. Restaurant service was unprofessional . We ordered full English breakfasts in the morning and they arrived with no sausage or beans. There was no prior notification or explanation when we commented to the staff. We raised our concerns with the manager and am pleased to say these have been dealt with and we have been appropriately compensated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2017
We had a fantastic stay to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The staff were lovely and the level of service was spot on, it was very natural, and not at all stuffy. Certainly the perfect place to relax, it was the little touches like the deer on the bed which you place outside your room if you don't want to be disturbed. Wifi throughout was a huge bonus. The hotel has a long history which was really interesting. Location was perfect for Stratford Upon Avon and Warwick. I would recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Wonderful position

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Position , grounds & rooms
Cons: Food & drink prices
Stunning building , very nice rooms [ nos: 35 &38 ] super breakfast . overall ,really enjoyed the stay & would go again. One drawback , £ 14.00 for a glass of wine is far too dear & this precluded us from eating & drinking at the hotel . They need to sort this out .
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
You want to stay in a castle you pay for it. Excellent customer service. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Nancy

Quiet, elegant , lovely.

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
We loved two quiet days there. Especially the grounds and the history of the family. Small interesting village nearby.
4 out of 5
by Sinead

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Susan

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic stay. The hotel and grounds were beautiful and the service was excellent. Would absolutely stay there again.