Ratings based on 905 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovation work

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel is having a major renovation, and was not informed before going. No front bar or lounge area in the old part of hotel. So very disappointing when we were looking for a comfortable hotel. The staff were not particularly welcoming. The room was cold with a small portable heater in the room which took 2 hours or so to take the chill of the room. Need a coat or thick jumper on for breakfast. Would not recommend this hotel as a 4 star. More like a 2 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reddish

Right in the center of town

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Center of town location
Cons: Bar could do with a refurb
Location: Close to pubs ,landmarks ,cafes
In the middle of town ,easy for seeing the area,pleasant staff ,bar was a bit quite ,only used it once ,room did what it sez on the can ,very warm though had to use the fan to cool it down ,hotel being refurbished at the minute
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest of Dean

Undergoing Restoration

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Convenience, room size & staff.
Cons: Hotel undergoing restoration so will be better when builders have gone
Location: Middle of Stratford so everything on the doorstep.
At the momenet the Falcon is undergoing restoration which means that the 16th century bit at the front is closed. The only rooms that are available are in the 1960's block at the rear. If you don't mind slightly tired rooms ( that's phase 2 of the restoration ) you can get a really large room at a significantly discounted rate. Staff are courteous and helpful and breakfast is excelllent. Very convenient to the theatre and town centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

disappointing.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Remodeling took away from the charm of an old hotel that was expected. Nothing was shared about this when I booked. Gal at front desk knew nothing about the area. No phone in room. Nice bar. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Good hotel in town centre

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, central location, parking
Cons: Rooms are very warm, A/C would be good but difficult for hotel to install
Location: At the end of one of the main shopping streets, with loads of shops and restaurants a stroll away. Can walk to RSC & river in less than 10 minutes.
Great hotel, handy for shops and RSC and other tourist attractions. Has parking which is a great bonus as parking in Stratford Upon Avon is at a premium. Having refurbishment work done but this never intruded on our stay. Rooms were warm but fans were provided. Bed could have been softer but that's my personal preference - it didn't stop me sleeping! Cannot fault staff who were all excellent. I am looking forward to going back when the refurbishment is done because that can only improve an already excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Good facilities, central location.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Central location, easy parking
Cons: Will be better when refurbishment completed.
Location: As above
Central location. Room spacious and clean, bed comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Epsom

Great location but currently being renovated

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, parking on site.
Cons: Perhaps it does need a refresh, and that is happening at the moment.
Location: Right in the centre - could not be better located for everything in the town.
Fantastically located and lots of cheap parking on site - excellent. Currently being renovated so front part of hotel closed off. Some noise from work being undertaken for which the hotel give a 15% discount off of the first round of drinks in the bar - not much of an incentive! Room was of good size and clean. Breakfast at £10 per head was ok. Staff all helpful and polite. Overall a good stay. We go to the theatre in Stratford upon Avon three or four times a year and normally use the Falcon. We understand the hotel is going to be undergoing work for some time yet so will probably check other hotel availability and pricing for our next trip there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Can't wait for the renovation to be completed! It's set to look fabulous!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not what you think when you book

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Firstly the Falcon is undergoing major renovation works at the moment so lots of disruption. But our main problem with the hotel was that it isn't what is advertised - you actually stay in a dull, 70s style block behind the black & white timber framed frontage. So from that perspective it is very disappointing as you don't stay in the place shown on the website! Rooms are bland, tired and no more than functional. Very disappointed so we moved hotel and did not stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Limerick, Ireland

City / Town Break

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, value, comfort, friendly staff. Also the 'olde worlde' feel to the hotel which I hope will not be lost in the refurbishment.
Location: Stratford upon Avon is a must visit for fans of Shakespeare. Lots to do and see in and near the town.
The Falcon Hotel is located right in the centre of Stratford, vey close to the town's many attractions. The rooms were very comfortable, breakfast was very good and the one evening meal we had was beautiful. Parking was available though not guaranteed. The hotel was undergoing serious refurbishment at the time of our stay but this did not cause any difficulties for us. The main restaurant was not open however and we would like to have tried this. All staff members were friendly and helpful.