Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Good overnight stay

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: rooms
Cons: I doubt that there is room for all cars to park when hotel is full but no idea what can be done about it
Location: excellent central location for theatre,shakespeare sites and shops and restaurants
Our stay was very satisfactory with large clean rooms with all facilities.I was not entirely happy to pay extra for both breakfast and parking and I suspect parking is a problem at times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Inn

Posted Dec 30, 2017
By far the most charming overnight stay that we have ever experienced. My husband and I enjoyed drinks in front of the cozy fire and wished that we had time in our trip for another night here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chester UK

Accommodation very good value, restaurant not.

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Location, oldie worldie ambiance, price.
Cons: Have said it above.
Location: Theatre, shopping, good choice of restaurants. Shakespeare experience with open topped buses best enjoyed April - Oct.
We've stayed here before but never at Christmas time. The hotel was welcoming and the smell of the real log fire contributed to the Christmas atmosphere. The room was very comfortable but why no bedside light to read by? The bath needed attention; scruffy. We booked an early dinner at 17.30 as we were due at the theatre for a 19.15 curtain up. We had to wait @40 minutes for our meal. This meant that although the food was good we had to rush our dinner and I had to leave quite a lot. Breakfast was ok. Scrambled eggs had to be ordered separately. They came @20 minutes after we'd sat down. The plates were cold which meant that our hot breakfast cooled rapidly. This is a lovely hotel and the staff try hard. The restaurant side needs a new manager. My advice: stay here but eat elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Conveniently located for Stratford’s attractions

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: See details above
Location: Close to all attractions
This was my second visit to this hotel. It has a certain old world charm but is in need of modernisation. The reception area is underwhelming and rather shabby, the carpets could do with replacing. The room was clean but the grouting on the bathroom tiles was not in a good state. One of the sockets in the bedroom was loose, The TV remote did not work properly. The carpet was stained. Breakfast was OK but I didn’t think the choice was up to 4 star standard. The coffee wasn’t hot. I didn’t complain as I was only there one night. I found the staff friendly and the location of the hotel is very good, but feel that it needs money spent on it to bring it up to 4 star standard. It is however reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel near RSC theatre

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Bed mattresses are too soft!
Location: Good location
Enjoyable stay. Hotel only a few minutes walk from RSC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Very Convenient for the Theatre

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Location close to theatre and restaurants
Cons: Parking was difficult
Location: All the tourist attractions of Stratford on Avon
We had a quick overnight stay while visiting the RSC. A well placed hotel close to the theatre and resaurants. Only problem was parking which was a bit tight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hemel hempstead

Hotel is well places in the centre of town.

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Lovley hotel good breakfast buffet and the bar was cosy and nice to use in the evening. Only one problem was the state of the shower curtain as it was mouldy and a though asked to have it changed it was not during our stay
4 out of 5
by David

One nighter

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
Only one night but we’d stay there again. Great central location. Big room & had a bit of character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sask, canada

Stratford trip

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Excellent Hotel, very helpful staff. Excellent bar service, close to areas of interest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Old hotel, uptodate accomodation

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: It provided all we needed for our 2 night stay.
Cons: A bigger room would have been nice but for such a short stay it was okay.
Location: Easy to find (sat nav took us right there). With-in walking distance of shops, river, theatre, cafe's etc.
Friendly and welcoming staff. Room very small but adequate. Bed comfortable, room clean and everything we needed supplied, tea, coffee, biscuits etc.Would stay again as it is right in the middle of town, with good car parking facilities.